Author Topic: Want to start using some electrical equipment, but what a circus.  (Read 7626 times)

Offline DecomanTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
So I have come around to consider working with electronics, in order to install led's into scale models. These would be 2-3V, 20mA lights and such, and afaik powered by some 9V power supply (I would have to rig that, which I've done before with 12V).

Now.. what a circus and horror show this seems, buying cheaper electronics equipment. My ambition to work with electronics would have to be to not ending up killing myself, and there is the appeal in acquiring an more affordable digital variable power supply and working with a multimeter.

I've already ordered the 'UNI-T UT61E' digital multimeter, and I think I will be happy with that. Seems safe enough for smaller things, but ofc I am fairly new to working with electronics and I am just used to wire basic lighting in my apartment (which is allowed legally where I live in Northern Europe). My mains are afaik AC 230V where I live.

What is more troublesome is buying the digital variable power supply. The only model that I am currently considering, is this older KORAD KA3005P, and I like the design for the buttons compared to similar products which has a different front side set of buttons. I know there is a D version afaik without a USB port on the back, but I don't know if the P or D version would be better than the other.

Trawling through this forum thread: https://www.eevblog.com/forum/blog/eevblog-315-korad-ka3005p-reviewfail/ I have the impression that I might perhaps get to have a decent power supply, but one that won't end up killing me because it was designed badly. Yet, the unit might fail, because it is a low priced product with questionable merit with regard to choice and the quality of components and design.