Author Topic: What do you do when you look at a schematic ?  (Read 5484 times)

Offline RivaultUserTopic starter

• Contributor
What do you do when you look at a schematic ?
« on: January 26, 2013, 04:49:51 pm »
Hey guys, I've been struggling in electronic for about almost 1 year ( yeah, I'm still a newbie who needs a lot experience )

What makes me want to post this question is

Do you guys really able to read a SCHEMATIC ?

What I'm talking about is not such a simple schematic, but a schematic in a different level ( yes, you know what I mean )

A schematic that includes lots of components, lots of combination between components, lots of connection between components

Now what I really wanna know is :

Do you really can read that kind of schematic ?

I mean, do you really can explain how this schematic works? By explains it one by one, what each component does in that circuit ?

Cause I feel that it's wayyy too hard to do all that ( recently I just learn about bypass capacitor, now that I know why circuits usually uses capacitor )

So, You really can do it?

Offline benemorius

• Regular Contributor
Re: What do you do when you look at a schematic ?
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2013, 05:51:26 pm »
Yes, in time you'll see that it works much like written language. By that I mean you'll end up recognizing groups of components and functional blocks and no longer have to study each and every component and connection, just like you don't actually look at each letter in a word in order to determine what word it is. Adding words to your vocabulary happens with experience, so for the most part it will just take some time.

In the mean time, take that really big schematic and cut out the part you're interested in looking at and you'll find that you're left with a simple small schematic to study. Just ignore the bits you can't figure out. Repeat until you've digested the whole thing.

Offline madires

• Super Contributor
  • A qualified hobbyist ;)