Author Topic: What Should I get next?  (Read 13434 times)

Offline nick.sekTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
What Should I get next?
« on: April 26, 2012, 02:33:32 am »
Hey everybody,

Looking for feed back on what I should get next in setting up my electronics lab. I'm thinking about getting a soldering station going - using the highly recommended Hakko, but what Fume extractors do you recommend? I'm studying Electrical Engineering - specializing in control systems if that can influence your input. Any feedback would be appreciated.

Or watch the video if you don't feel like reading at:

What I have so far is:

BK precision function generator 2MHz
Power Supply Dual Channel - 30 Volts 3 Amps for both channel - Amp meter and volts meters as well
Rigol DS1102E
3 Multimeters - All ideal (with a name like that how can I go wrong, just kidding)
Various Leads
An assortment of hand tools
And a whack of components

Offline amspire

• Super Contributor
Re: What Should I get next?
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2012, 02:52:30 am »
You are pretty well equipped. Definitely get a good soldering iron. Some breadboarding kits. Probably a good idea to have a microcontroller kit of some sort that you get familiar with so that it is easy for you when you need to use a micro.  Arduino is not bad to start with, and TI's launchpad kit  for its MSP430 value family of chips is a real bargain at $4.30. Doesn't cost much to get started with PIC chips too.

Otherwise, save your money until you find you really need something. One day a network analyser could be good if you need to analyze control loops, but wait until you really understand what you need before looking for a second hand one. It may be that you never need one at all.

Richard.

Offline pickle9000

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2012, 03:14:33 am »
- Good soldering station is a must.
- A hot air setup (even a cheap one is fine)