Author Topic: What to do with scope probes after use?  (Read 10576 times)

Offline bitshiftTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
  • Too much to learn, too little time
What to do with scope probes after use?
« on: March 16, 2015, 05:42:57 am »
Hey everyone,

Total noob here.... So I recently purchased an oscilloscope.

I was wondering what to do with the probes after use. What I've been doing is just wrapping them up as you can see in the attached image.

Is this good? I feel bad doing it every time.

Whats the best thing to do to ensure the longevity of my investment?
"It’s all fun and games until an innocent opamp gets hurt!" - Dave Jones

Offline Fsck

• Super Contributor
  • sleep deprived
Re: What to do with scope probes after use?
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2015, 06:10:23 am »
I usually leave my haphazardly around so they don't interfere with whatever I'm doing.
"This is a one line proof...if we start sufficiently far to the left."

Offline taco

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2015, 06:33:55 am »
What scope did you buy? Being a newb myself, I'm looking for a low cost learning one that will serve me for a few years. do you like it?

Offline tautech

• Super Contributor
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
Siglent Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/@SiglentVideo/videos

Offline tggzzz

• Super Contributor
  • Numbers, not adjectives
    • Having fun doing more, with less
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2015, 09:26:14 am »
To do the job properly:
http://nz.rs-online.com/web/c/test-measurement/test-leads/test-lead-racks/

There's a good argument for that, but personally I'd bend up a piece of metal or acrylic!

I'm continually amazed by the number of ebay ads that show probe leads compressed into a figure of 8 by elastic bands. Currently there's an £800 Agilent probe like that!
There are lies, damned lies, statistics - and ADC/DAC specs.