Author Topic: What to do?  (Read 3872 times)

Offline SuperMiguelTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
What to do?
« on: September 14, 2010, 04:38:57 pm »
So im an electric engineer student. Still taking my prerequisite classes (this semester im taking Calculus II, Chemistry I, Economics for Engineers and Communication for engineers) but i have a bit of free time and want to start learning about electronics..

In the pass i have built a small robot using arduino (http://forums.adafruit.com/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=14402), i have done multiple things with arduino but that was the biggest.. I also bought an STK500 AVR board, but since i dont know alot of C i got bored and trough it in a box, i also did a bit of work with 555 (basic timer), i stared reading "The Art of Electronics" but got bored in chapter one, so i stopped reading it..

So what should i do? what you guys recommend??
« Last Edit: September 14, 2010, 04:40:54 pm by SuperMiguel »

Offline Varal

• Contributor
Re: What to do?
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2010, 05:09:05 pm »
I'm no pro in this (often struggling to understand the most obvious things) but one thing I can say - electronics is all about the need to know and the patience to studdy. Nothing in electronics comes easy (I'm not talking about people with an IQ over 150 here) so as the first step I'd ask myself "is this really it?"

If you're absolutely sure you want to studdy electronics try to look for the types of degrees your faculty offers. Read about them and decide what could fit your needs the most and try to point all your actions in that particular direction. This is a general advice.