Author Topic: What Type of Solder Should I Use?  (Read 7735 times)

Offline superscott319Topic starter

• Contributor
What Type of Solder Should I Use?
« on: August 16, 2013, 05:50:09 pm »
Hey everyone, I'm Scott.  :)

I just started learning how to solder and after watching some tutorials, put aside some spare PCB boards I had lying around to try my hand at soldering with, but ended up performing what could be one of the worst soldering jobs ever with big globs of partially melted solder and burn marks all over the board. I'm pretty sure the cheap solder I was using had something to do with it, but being this is the first type of solder I've ever worked with, I'm not completely sure.

After watching Dave's How to Solder Part 1 tutorial, I realized the type of solder you use makes a big difference and so I was wondering if you guys could point me in the direction of what types of solder would work best for general purpose PCB soldering.

I was using a good quality iron but the solder I was working with was some unnamed .031" stuff that came with a cheap PC repair toolkit. It was really hard getting this stuff to flow even when setting my iron to a higher temp. I don't have other solder available to test whether it's my iron or the solder.

From what I understand so far, the thinner stuff is better but I'm confused when it comes to the types of flux cores available. When looking to buy some thin 60/40 or 63/37 solder, the specs different sites and brands showed for flux didn't follow a consistent format where some mentioned having a number of cores while some didn't even mention cores at all or described it as "pure core".

I saw in Dave's EEVBlog tutorials, he used some five core solder but does the number of cores play an important role for good quality soldering or is there more to it than that?

Thanks for helping clarify this.

Offline nanofrog

• Super Contributor
Re: What Type of Solder Should I Use?
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2013, 06:30:47 pm »