Author Topic: Whats in an electronic toothbrush? --Author request  (Read 4521 times)

Offline battle1Topic starter

Whats in an electronic toothbrush? --Author request
« on: January 29, 2014, 03:44:37 am »
I am an author looking for information on the materials that are found in a Philips Sonicare Toothbrush. 

For example, I assume magnets use rare earths, lithium etc in batteries, but am curious about the transistors, resistors and other components.  I would be grateful for the help.

Thanks!

Online IanB

• Super Contributor
Re: Whats in an electronic toothbrush? --Author request
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2014, 03:51:18 am »
Why "Philips Sonicare Toothbrush", specifically?

Philips is only one brand of toothbrush, and toothbrushes are only one kind of electronic consumer device (like CFLs, televisions, computers and any number of things), all of which share the same basic components in manufacturing.

If you want to know about the contents of electronics and electronic waste in general, there must be a ton of material out there which is easily researched.

What is it you want to know, exactly, that you can't find by a normal literature search?

Offline battle1Topic starter

« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2014, 04:07:33 am »
http://www.spiegel.de/international/spiegel/globalization-the-global-toothbrush-a-398229.html  Discusses where the components of a sonicare toothbrush come from.  Im interested in where the materials themselves come from.

I dont want e-waste in general, just perspective on what is -- or very likely -- in some of the components of an elec toothbrush, ideally sonicare.

Thanks!

Online IanB

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2014, 04:17:46 am »
Well, circuit boards use copper. Solder uses tin. Transistors and chips use silicon. Rechargeable batteries use nickel. The raw material for plastic usually comes from crude oil.

Online EEVblog

• Administrator
    • EEVblog
« Reply #4 on: January 29, 2014, 04:23:07 am »