Author Topic: Which bandwidth should I choose?  (Read 7612 times)

Offline EdEditzTopic starter

• Contributor
Which bandwidth should I choose?
« on: May 26, 2017, 07:38:38 pm »
Hello, My name is Eddy and this is my first post on this forum.  I'm new to the world of digital oscilloscopes (I have an old Tektronix 545 with 102 vacuum tubes in it but it's broken) and am looking to buy my first scope. Now I work a lot with RF circuits and I want to be able to see a 100MHz sine-wave on my scope with reasonable quality. Now I have my eye on either the Rigol DS1054Z that Dave says is the best bang for buck you can get, but that's 50MHz (and I don't trust my capability to hack it) or the Siglent SDS1202X which is 200MHz. My question is, if I go for the Rigol, will I be able to view a 100MHz signal with some reasonable resolution?

Offline sokoloff

• Super Contributor
Re: Which bandwidth should I choose?
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2017, 07:43:41 pm »
The hack is dead-easy. It literally took me 15 minutes to read the thread and 5 minutes to execute. (I did it over ssh, which I think is easier/faster than doing it via the keypad.)

Neither of those scopes will be suitable for 100MHz work. In general, you want a scope bandwidth spec of at least 5x the highest frequency you will use.

Offline tautech

• Super Contributor
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2017, 07:49:59 pm »