Author Topic: Which SMD components to stock up on?  (Read 6614 times)

Offline garymckTopic starter

• Contributor
Which SMD components to stock up on?
« on: May 07, 2017, 09:46:07 pm »
Hi,
 After multiple trips to the local hobbyist store to by 1 resistor, 2 caps etc  :D , I decided to stock up on bits and pieces. Spent under a $100 on evilbay and have mass quantities of resistors, caps, zeners, transistors, ic's etc on a slow boat from China. These are all through hole stuff.

What would be the suggestions for stocking up on SMD stuff? Should I even do it? Can spare another $100 or so if it's worth it..Which series are most useful etc? Like the look of the sample book kits offered....

Note, I am a beginner, building up the bits to create my home "lab", joining the local electronics/radio club and spending hours watching electronics relation tube videos....

cheers
Gary

Online tautech

• Super Contributor
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Which SMD components to stock up on?
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2017, 10:12:28 pm »
Hi,
 After multiple trips to the local hobbyist store to by 1 resistor, 2 caps etc  :D , I decided to stock up on bits and pieces. Spent under a $100 on evilbay and have mass quantities of resistors, caps, zeners, transistors, ic's etc on a slow boat from China. These are all through hole stuff.

What would be the suggestions for stocking up on SMD stuff? Should I even do it? Can spare another $100 or so if it's worth it..Which series are most useful etc? Like the look of the sample book kits offered....

Note, I am a beginner, building up the bits to create my home "lab", joining the local electronics/radio club and spending hours watching electronics relation tube videos....

cheers
Gary