Author Topic: Why are ATMega's so overpriced ?  (Read 9928 times)

Offline michaelivTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Why are ATMega's so overpriced ?
« on: August 10, 2015, 01:07:13 pm »
Hi,

I'm new to the world of microcontrollers, just starting out with the Arduino.
Looking around DigiKey, I somewhat noticed that the most popular chips used in the Arduino(AtMega's) are significantly overpriced when compared to the competition. I would expect the exact opposite - since the Arduino is so popular, Atmel should be able to sell them cheaper due to sale volume.

Here is what I mean (Qty 10 - Flash / RAM / IO)
Cheapest 16kb Flash:
$2.65 ATMEGA168A-MURCT-ND 16kb 1K 22IO
$1.15 - MKE02Z16VFM4 16kb 2K 28IO (Extras : 12b ADC <vs 10b>, 12b DAC, 2x max freq)
$0.95 MKL03Z16VFK4  16kb 2K 22IO (12b ADC<vs 10b>, No EEPROM)

Cheapest with USB:
$5.84 ATMEGA32U4-AUR 32kb 2.5K 26 IO
$2.80 R5F10KBCAFP#V0 32kb / 5.5K 22IO
$3.34 ATXMEGA32C4-MHR  32kb / 4k / 16IO
$1.47 EFM8UB20F32G-A-QFN32 32kb 2.25K 25 IO (No EEPROM)
$0.82 EFM8UB10F8G-B-QFN20 8kb 2.25K 13IO ( No EEPROM/Less Flash/ RAM/ IO)

The above scenarios weren't cherry-picked, this seems to be the general trend for all AtMega chips, for every configuration there exists a close enough equivalent that is at least half the price.
Even AVR's AtxMega chips are significantly less for same given specifications.
What am I missing here ? Is there something extra that they offer that I don't know enough to appreciate ?
What's the difference between the AtxMega and AtMega series ? Can you run the same code on both ?
If the AtMega chips are so overpriced for no significant reason, why did Arduino choose to go with them / didn't drop them when better alternatives became available ?

Thanks!

Offline coppice

• Super Contributor
Re: Why are ATMega's so overpriced ?
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2015, 01:26:31 pm »