Author Topic: Your favorite Electonic introduction and reference material ?  (Read 8188 times)

Offline terrieaTopic starter

• Contributor
Your favorite Electonic introduction and reference material ?
« on: November 19, 2009, 12:57:03 am »
Hi every one,

I'm trying to bet back in electronics. I studied it a little, in my younger days back in school. But at that time I didn't really understand what I was doing so I ended up in the software world ;). To catch up with my lack of knowlege I'm looking for some good references (books, web sites, wiki or watever) to learn the basics of the different aspects of electronics. When I say basics aspects I don't mean easy things just to make an LED light up, but to get a really profound explaination of the differents types of components (capacitors, inductors, diodes, transistors,...) and how they behave with current, tention, power etc... Ideally something that can be used as a reference when we need to calculate the capacitor values for a filter, the transistor values for an amplifier or a inductence for a boost-converter.
Well maybe it is asking too much to have a good explaination and a good reference in the same content, that's why I prefer make the distinction for the two questions. I don't ask for "the best", as these are always a matter of personal taste and personal needs, but i'd really like to have your opignon and your personnal experiance on the subject.

What's your favorite electronics introduction material ? (baybe a particular book that reminds you hours of hard studying)
What's your favorite electronics reference material ? (the one you couldn't survive without)

Thanks for sharing

Offline charliex

• Frequent Contributor
  • Car Hacker
Re: Your favorite Electonic introduction and reference material ?
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2009, 01:10:36 am »
Horowitz and Hill, Art of Electronics + Student manual.

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2009, 05:02:33 am »
Horowitz and Hill, Art of Electronics