Author Topic: ~~ using RS232 to SCPI (keithley), and noise comparisons/mods  (Read 5029 times)

Offline 3roomlabTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
~~ using RS232 to SCPI (keithley), and noise comparisons/mods
« on: October 02, 2015, 10:05:30 pm »
hello SCPI-ers, im new to the new territory of SCPI-ing (on a used keithley 2015).
i recently learnt some python (from here and various pieces all over the web) to enable RS232 comms to this DMM beast.

while being able to see FETCh work, there have been other commands which i find wasnt being able to get thru. i hope some veterans will shed some light on issues or workarounds.

what has been working for me?
PC(WinXP SP3) --> python 2.7 --> PYSERIAL 2.7 --> USB(RS232) PL2303 --> K2015(DMM)
the max stable :FETCh rate (with 4.8kbps) is 17Hz approx

however, while i did not try everything, it seems, :FETCh is the only thing that works.

A) example this, doesnt change the ASCII out to float  -- ser.write(':FORMat:DATA DREAL')

B) and this :

ser.close()
ser.open()
ser.write(':DISP:ENAB 0')
time.sleep(1)
ser.write(':DISP:ENAB 1')
time.sleep(1)

error 120 happens (and the display does not flick off and on), and the next round of data FETCh results in strange reads. could it be that certain RS232 adapters dont work well? or there needs to be some pre-prepping commands to reset the DMM?

C) another example, i wanted to try to enable autozero (eg : for DMM noise logging). it doesnt seem to respond  :-//

**update** solutions solved
A) on RS232, all comms are limited to ASCII (duh lol because it is RS232). the DREAL can only be used in GPIB mode
B) PROLIFIC xmit problem (recieve is ok)
C) PROLIFIC xmit problem (recieve is ok)

FTDI has no problems in XMIT but has significantly higher latency. for FTDI to work, higher delay timers have to be used in coding in order to WAIT FOR it to do its stuff lol
« Last Edit: October 11, 2015, 04:15:49 am by 3roomlab »

• Frequent Contributor
Re: ~~ exploring SCPI thru RS232 (problem/solution?)