Author Topic: Can someone help me with my Rigol DSA815-TG setup?  (Read 2653 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline KC9KEP

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
Can someone help me with my Rigol DSA815-TG setup?
« on: January 17, 2013, 02:23:25 PM »
Hello all,

I'm trying to do something that I would think to be very simple.

For the sake of mastering this, I have connected my Heathkit battery powered RF generator
to my Rigol DSA815TG  (I used a 10 dB attenuator .. just in case.)

If I set my RF generator to 3.5 MHz, and turn on the AM modulation (1 KHz), I would expect to
see 3 lobes; a 3.5MHz lobe and a (3.5MHz + 1KHz) and (3.5MHz - 1KHz) lobe.

Of course, I set a fairly small span to see this.

I can see the center frequency and upper & lower "sidebands" but I cannot
get a nice stable display.  The 3 lobes bounce around.

I would think this would be easy to see .. like the transmitter graphics that are
published in the ARRL handbboks.

Can someone with more experience suggest what I should be doing
to set up analyzer?

Much thanks all!

--KC9KEP
 

Offline cmatten

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 6
Re: Can someone help me with my Rigol DSA815-TG setup?
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2013, 10:01:36 PM »
You'll probably find it is drift with the generator. I know if I connect my MFJ269 up to my DSA-815, the frequency drifts around.
 

Offline PA4TIM

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 927
  • Country: nl
  • instruments are like rabbits, they multiply fast
    • PA4TIMs shelter for orphan measurement stuff
Re: Can someone help me with my Rigol DSA815-TG setup?
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2013, 10:08:36 PM »
You are looking at the drift and imperfection of the heathkit. Use a generator that is locked in frequency. For instance coupled to an external timestandard, or with a TCXO, or pll ect not a feeerunning homenade kit. Perfect for many things but not testing a SA.
www.pa4tim.nl my collection measurement gear and experiments Also lots of info about network analyse
www.schneiderelectronicsrepair.nl  repair of test and calibration equipment
 

Offline PA0PBZ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3362
  • Country: nl
Re: Can someone help me with my Rigol DSA815-TG setup?
« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2013, 10:53:37 PM »
What they say. To see the lobes you will have to set the span to something like 500Hz-1KHz per division. That also means that if the heathkit drifts 1KHz your whole display will drift one or two divisions. You could try singe shot mode, I expect that the Rigol can do that. At least the display will not bounce around then.
Keyboard error: Press F1 to continue.
 

Offline deephaven

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 777
  • Country: gb
  • Civilization is just one big bootstrap
    • Deephaven Ltd
Re: Can someone help me with my Rigol DSA815-TG setup?
« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2013, 03:50:28 AM »
Try lowering the scan rate and attenuating the signal some more.
 

Offline gm0otb

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 17
  • Country: gb
Re: Can someone help me with my Rigol DSA815-TG setup?
« Reply #5 on: March 26, 2013, 10:09:57 PM »
You will find that the lobes bounce around because they are being modulated with AM at 1khz, if you turn the tone generator off it should look stable (apart from transmitter drift)
 

Offline gm0otb

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 17
  • Country: gb
Re: Can someone help me with my Rigol DSA815-TG setup?
« Reply #6 on: March 26, 2013, 10:39:48 PM »
Done a quick test for you, setup as follows:

Generator settings:
Main Carrier Frequency= 3.5mhz, with1khz AM tone, Shape=Sine, Depth=100%

DSA815 settings:
Centre Freq=3.5 Mhz, Span=6.250Khz, 10db Attenuator internal on, 10db external Attenuator in-line, Scale Typle= Log or Lin for a clearer view. RBW=100hz, VBW=100hz

Try that, that should give you what you want to see. main cariier with side bands :)

Hope this helps Ray.
« Last Edit: March 26, 2013, 10:51:51 PM by gm0otb »
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf