Author Topic: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide  (Read 845968 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline 0201m

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 14
  • Country: de
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1350 on: August 12, 2013, 07:14:42 PM »
I will upload the newest Firmware when i got it from my local dealer
 

Offline 0201m

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 14
  • Country: de
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1351 on: August 12, 2013, 07:28:50 PM »
@Gizmo: Here is update 00.04.01.00.02, which is the last update released for the DS1000 series. There are two files for the D and E model
Link:
http://www.mediafire.com/download/g7nedge6qanh3ie/FirmwareupdateDS1052e.zip

MD5 Checksums:
DS1000DUpdate.RGL: 50D392F483EC340D402D5183884B6C26
DS1000EUpdate.RGL: 554266B48F86E0BF3DA3E6AA832C6609

Greetz,
Marco
« Last Edit: August 12, 2013, 08:04:38 PM by 0201m »
 

Offline Gizmo

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 77
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1352 on: August 12, 2013, 07:58:20 PM »
Thanks Marco, I'll check that out!  :-+

Gizmo
 

Offline Drewbie

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 12
  • Country: nz
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1353 on: August 12, 2013, 10:37:03 PM »
I will upload the newest Firmware when i got it from my local dealer
Thanks for doing that, Marco.

You beat me to it - I got the file just now from the support people.

Looking forward to seeing what Gizmo comes up with. :^)

 

Offline 0201m

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 14
  • Country: de
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1354 on: August 12, 2013, 11:54:04 PM »
According to the rigol support there where only minor graphical bugfixes done between 4.00 and this new version, let's hope the best :)
 

Offline Gizmo

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 77
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1355 on: August 12, 2013, 11:59:24 PM »
Here we go, latest firmware update (00.04.01.00.02) with 100Mhz mod.

CRC32: 4EF27EF4
MD5: b3be022a8890c7448ed68a189c1071b1

https://anonfiles.com/file/be1d042d3757bd9073335a09554ccea3

And kindly also hosted more permanently here:

http://jahansen.com/rigol/DS1000EUpdate.00.04.01.00.02.zip

Instructions as before --

Copy the DS1000EUpdate.RGL file from the zip onto a memory stick, put it in the scope, and select OK when it asks if you want to update the firmware. It's that simple.

For your peace of mind, check the file's MD5 against the above number when it's on your memory stick to ensure it's correct before flashing and always do "eject" on the drive if using windows before pulling out the stick. The scope doesn't bother with any data integrity checking, which is a bit of a shame, so if the file is corrupted at all, you will most likely brick the scope.

Gizmo
« Last Edit: September 16, 2013, 08:29:19 PM by Gizmo »
 
The following users thanked this post: jondaddio

Offline 0201m

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 14
  • Country: de
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1356 on: August 13, 2013, 12:05:57 AM »
Thanks, I will look if I can host it somewhere on my webserver
 

Offline Drewbie

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 12
  • Country: nz
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1357 on: August 13, 2013, 12:22:57 AM »

Works a treat!

Thanks Gizmo, you're a champion!

 

Offline valenz

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: br
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1358 on: August 14, 2013, 04:36:19 AM »
Hi Gizmo and all,

With the firmware update (00.04.01.00.02) with 100Mhz mod installed on the device, it is possible to re-upgrade to (00.04.01.00.02) 100Mhz without mod (Std).

You know, and nice to have this possibility in case something unexpected  ;)

Thanks in advance.

Carlos
 

Offline Gizmo

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 77
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1359 on: August 14, 2013, 06:56:41 AM »
You can re-flash to the original firmware, if that is what you mean? It will be half the sample rate though, back to 50MHz with the standard firmware. You need the modded firmware to get 100MHz bandwidth.

Gizmo
 

Offline valenz

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: br
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1360 on: August 14, 2013, 11:04:01 PM »
Thanks Gismo,
The question was whether I could reinstall the original firmware from 50 Mhz to return to factory condition.
For any warranty service.

Carlos.
 

Offline Gizmo

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 77
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1361 on: August 14, 2013, 11:12:26 PM »
Yeah, that's not a problem. As long as you have an original version of the firmware which is same version or later than the modded firmware you are running, then you can re-flash to the original just as you would update to the modded.

Gizmo
 

Offline 555applelc

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 7
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1362 on: August 18, 2013, 11:33:43 PM »
thanks very much!!!
I"ll try to update my DS1052E.
 

Offline stormbr

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 50
  • Country: br
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1363 on: August 26, 2013, 02:35:42 PM »
Here we go, latest firmware update (00.04.01.00.02) with 100Mhz mod.

CRC32: 4EF27EF4
MD5: b3be022a8890c7448ed68a189c1071b1

https://anonfiles.com/file/be1d042d3757bd9073335a09554ccea3

Instructions as before --

Copy the DS1000EUpdate.RGL file from the zip onto a memory stick, put it in the scope, and select OK when it asks if you want to update the firmware. It's that simple.

For your peace of mind, check the file's MD5 against the above number when it's on your memory stick to ensure it's correct before flashing and always do "eject" on the drive if using windows before pulling out the stick. The scope doesn't bother with any data integrity checking, which is a bit of a shame, so if the file is corrupted at all, you will most likely brick the scope.

If someone would like to put the file somewhere more permanent and mail me the link, I'll update this post.

Gizmo

Many thanks, this guide works fine for my 1052E.

old version - stock firmware: 00.04.00.00.01
current version - w/ 100mhz mod: 00.04.01.00.02
« Last Edit: August 26, 2013, 02:39:18 PM by stormbr »
 

Offline vasiliy5177

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1364 on: August 26, 2013, 04:23:02 PM »
???? ??????. ??????? ???????? ??????? ??????? RIGOL DS1052e. ????? ?????? ??????? ? ??? ? ???????? ?? ?????????? ????? ????????? ??????? ? ????????? ??????.? ??? ??????? ??? ???? ????????? ??????? ???????????. ????? ???? ?????????????? ???????? ?  ?? ????. ????????? ??????????? ???? ????? ???????????? ??????. ?????????? ?? ??????. HELP/
 

Offline Zepnat

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 83
  • Country: gb
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1365 on: August 26, 2013, 09:07:19 PM »
Another member has joined the rigol 1000 club..

Flashed with Gizmos firmware, model number is still showing as 1052 but with faster timebase. And I presume front end is open to 100mhz?
Too easy worked like a charm.

Reminds me of what you would call a sleeper in the car fraternity!

Scope is a ~week old with 4.00....., firmware.

I noticed that before flashing the new firmware, Long  Memory was only active in single shot capture but now is available in regular auto run/stop mode. Has anyone else noticed this or was it my inexperience when I first used it.?!

A
« Last Edit: August 26, 2013, 11:48:05 PM by Zepnat »
 

Offline stormbr

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 50
  • Country: br
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1366 on: August 28, 2013, 12:33:59 PM »
Long memory depth is available on run/stop mode too, but when i press the auto scale button come back to normal memory depth.
 

Offline Zepnat

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 83
  • Country: gb
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1367 on: August 29, 2013, 07:52:46 AM »
Sorry I wasn't very clear in my last post, I meant to say that long memory is available in auto triggering mode when you press the stop button. Whereas before the hack I could only seem to get long memory to work in single trigger mode. I don't really use the auto scale button at the moment.

Just want to say a big thank to everybody in this thread and to Dave for recommending it in the first place. I got it for a really good price and to hack it so easily is the icing on the cake.


A
 

Offline orion242

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 345
  • Country: us
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1368 on: August 31, 2013, 11:00:41 AM »
Thanks Gizmo!  Worked like a champ.
 

Offline Sigmoid

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 486
  • Country: us
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1369 on: September 04, 2013, 10:57:40 PM »
Hey,

Sorry for not reading the entire backlog, but these 30 pages are quite intimidating. :)

This method seems ULTRA SUPER COMPLICATED compared to the one Dave explained in the two hack videos. Also, what's this about screen flickering and never doing recalibration? It stopped sounding like "get a better scope cheap", and more like extreme overclocking (which tends to be exponentially more expensive and more trouble than just buying faster or more CPUs, and almost invariably ends with a heap of garbage that's good at floating point errors above anything else).

Is that simple method no longer working on the 2.05 firmware? Or does this complex, VISA/signature/image/whatnot method give some extra that one didn't?
« Last Edit: September 04, 2013, 11:01:23 PM by Sigmoid »
 

Offline Gizmo

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 77
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1370 on: September 04, 2013, 11:01:21 PM »
Read the post at the top of this page -- couldn't be simpler.

1) Put a file on a memory stick.
2) Put the stick in the scope.
3) Scope is now 100Mhz.
 

Offline wolf32d

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 41
  • Country: it
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1371 on: September 04, 2013, 11:43:25 PM »
Hi all!

Here we go, latest firmware update (00.04.01.00.02) with 100Mhz mod.

CRC32: 4EF27EF4
MD5: b3be022a8890c7448ed68a189c1071b1

https://anonfiles.com/file/be1d042d3757bd9073335a09554ccea3

Instructions as before [...]

@Gizmo
I think that anonfiles.com is down at the moment...
Could you please upload the file on another site?

Thanks
Digital? "every idiot can count to one!" (Bob Widlar)
 

Offline Gizmo

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 77
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1372 on: September 04, 2013, 11:57:35 PM »
Seems to be working for me. I can't see any other anonymous file share sites out there in my brief look which don't require me to dick about and register and stuff. If anyone has some spare space to put the file, that'd be appreciated!

Gizmo
 

Offline wolf32d

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 41
  • Country: it
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1373 on: September 05, 2013, 12:20:45 AM »
@Gizmo
Sorry, anonfiles isn't down... it's just being censored by some italian ISPs, I had to use tor to download it! ( :wtf:!!!).

Anyway, the firmware works great! Thanks a bunch!
Digital? "every idiot can count to one!" (Bob Widlar)
 

Offline felo2013

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1374 on: September 14, 2013, 12:59:27 AM »
Thank you guys and specially to George nice job !!!

I have successfully upgraded my DS1052E Serial # DS1ED13070xxxx with 2.05.02 firmware to DS1102E with 2.04.01 firmware.

Is there a 2.05 firmware with no issues?

Thanks a lot !!!
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf

 

http://opalkelly.com/