Author Topic: EEVblog #509 - Rigol 832 Lab Power Supply  (Read 89612 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Rigby

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1476
  • Country: us
  • Learning, very new at this. Righteous Asshole, too
Re: EEVblog #509 - Rigol 832 Lab Power Supply
« Reply #250 on: August 24, 2013, 10:40:18 pm »
Ha, right, good luck coming to a consensus on the design of that one....geez  :-)
I've followed this thread and I have to say it both amazes and amuses me.

The best and worst thing about anything interesting is the community that surrounds it.
 

Offline Zbig

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 806
  • Country: pl
Re: EEVblog #509 - Rigol 832 Lab Power Supply
« Reply #251 on: August 24, 2013, 10:56:03 pm »
[..]
My first impressions so far is a thumb sideways :-\ I can set the voltage in 1V steps with the rotary encoder, or I can push the "fine" button, and then I can change the voltage in 0.01V steps (20 steps per full turn). No acceleration, no way to select 0.1V steps (or at least I didn't find it). But the maximum current can be changed in 0.1A or 0.01A steps. If I turn the knob too fast, steps are missed until it is actually slower than turning the knob more slowly. Well, I can live with it, because I don't change the voltage that often anyway, more often the maximum current.
[..]

Doesn't sound terribly convenient... I have SPD3303S model (the higher resolution one) and it adjusts in 0.1V steps by default and 1mV in "Fine" mode. The same with current settings. Also, there seems to be some kind of encoder velocity algorithm implemented in mine so cranking it all the way across the scale doesn't take really that long. Mine's firmware version is 1.01.01.01.03R1 and hardware version is V1.0.
 

Offline FrankBuss

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2091
  • Country: de
    • Frank Buss
Re: EEVblog #509 - Rigol 832 Lab Power Supply
« Reply #252 on: August 24, 2013, 11:32:43 pm »
Doesn't sound terribly convenient... I have SPD3303S model (the higher resolution one) and it adjusts in 0.1V steps by default and 1mV in "Fine" mode. The same with current settings. Also, there seems to be some kind of encoder velocity algorithm implemented in mine so cranking it all the way across the scale doesn't take really that long. Mine's firmware version is 1.01.01.01.03R1 and hardware version is V1.0.
Sounds good, maybe then they'll fix it for my model, too. I don't need to change the voltage that often with one turn from 0V to 20V, but 0.1V steps would be very useful, to check brown-out limits of microcontrollers etc.

The firmware on the device says 1.01.01.01.05 (they do plan really many many revisions and sub-sub-sub-revisions :-DD ), and hardware version V1.1. There is a label on the CD which says 1.01.01.01.06, but I can neither find a firmware update on the CD, nor on the website.
So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish
 

Offline FrankBuss

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2091
  • Country: de
    • Frank Buss
Re: EEVblog #509 - Rigol 832 Lab Power Supply
« Reply #253 on: August 24, 2013, 11:59:56 pm »
Quote
a 2.2? 320Ă—240 LCD display that is a vast improvement on the old stock seven-segment numerical display.

Yeah, cool hack. But how is this a "vast improvement" ?  :-//
Yeah, they tend to exaggerate sometimes. I think unlike in this forum, their readers are mostly hobbyists.

BTW, they featured some of my hobby projects, too, like this one: http://hackaday.com/2012/08/01/4004-rom-emulator-allows-fast-development-on-slow-computers/
So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish
 

Offline FrankBuss

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2091
  • Country: de
    • Frank Buss
Re: EEVblog #509 - Rigol 832 Lab Power Supply
« Reply #254 on: August 25, 2013, 12:09:26 am »
But back to the topic: Dave, do you plan to do a more detailed review of the Rigol 832 (after you got some response about the power-up bug) and a tear down? And maybe for some readers it would be interesting to see how it can be interfaced with a PC. In my last freelancer programmer job I helped writing software for initializing and testing some hardware, and a programmable power supply with voltage and current measurement could really help to automate such init and testing procedures, and maybe even document it in a database for each device, as required by some regulations and ISO certifications.
So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish
 

Online IanB

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 9283
  • Country: us
Re: EEVblog #509 - Rigol 832 Lab Power Supply
« Reply #255 on: August 25, 2013, 06:13:25 am »
BTW: When I try to change the voltage above the maximum 32V on the device, it says "Voltage settings Overspray!". English is not my native language, but this doesn't sound right :)

It may not sound right, but it certainly sounds funny!  :-DD
I'm not an EE--what am I doing here?
 

Offline Crazy Ape

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 181
Re: EEVblog #509 - Rigol 832 Lab Power Supply
« Reply #256 on: August 25, 2013, 06:37:49 am »
BTW: When I try to change the voltage above the maximum 32V on the device, it says "Voltage settings Overspray!". English is not my native language, but this doesn't sound right :)

It may not sound right, but it certainly sounds funny!  :-DD

This is nothing new.
http://www.wetalk.tw/thread-5787-1-1.html

Machine translation at it's best:
http://www.fotopu.com/img/1/374556.jpg
 

Offline riconette

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 27
  • Country: de
Re: EEVblog #509 - Rigol 832 Lab Power Supply
« Reply #257 on: August 25, 2013, 09:31:40 am »
Yes Dave this post is a perfect example of what EE equipment is all about, how many colors can the display show, better looking UI's with more menu features  :-DD  And oh the older Agilent sucks because it does not have a Blinged out display  |O
Well at least the companies that can create the most high tech looking displays are now making money, who cares how well the equipment works, just so long as it looks good  ::)

i'm all with you when it comes to unnecessary eye candy like aero translucent window-title bars or compiz wobbly windows… thats all of no use.
but the DP832 in my opinion just uses state of the art display technology to show *relevant* data (i would'nt even mind a little beep on certain events - like when a channel goes to cc-mode). the DP832A is another story - dave mentioned that.
today there is no need to squeeze all data in one line of 7-segment bricks, thats it.

Today I got my Siglent SPD3303D....
My first impressions so far is a thumb sideways :-\

too sad :/
but ok, the third channel also doesn't have an on-screen readout (amps/watts), so your experience with the unit just makes it even *more* of no-go for me.
if dave manages to do a teardown of the DP832, maybe including a more thorough test, i'll buy that one if there are no further hidden bugs.
free bradley manning!
 

Offline Galaxyrise

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 526
  • Country: us
Re: EEVblog #509 - Rigol 832 Lab Power Supply
« Reply #258 on: August 25, 2013, 11:05:46 am »
Turned out to be the language setting for the installer, I could select "English" in the dropdown box and the first button might mean "install", because after this the software was installed. When I tried to start the installed software, I got an error because of missing VISA32.dll.
I have the Siglent SDG1000 series waveform generator and the Rigol DS2000 series scope, and both of them implemented their software using the VISA driver and both require me to download it from National Instruments myself.  Good news: Although the NI website looks like it requires registration, you can type in garbage values and it will accept them. (as of last night, anyway.)
I am but an egg
 

Offline Zbig

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 806
  • Country: pl
Re: EEVblog #509 - Rigol 832 Lab Power Supply
« Reply #259 on: August 25, 2013, 06:55:11 pm »
I have the Siglent SDG1000 series waveform generator and the Rigol DS2000 series scope, and both of them implemented their software using the VISA driver and both require me to download it from National Instruments myself.  Good news: Although the NI website looks like it requires registration, you can type in garbage values and it will accept them. (as of last night, anyway.)

Too bad VISA software is monstrous in size and makes itself a little too much at home on my PC for my liking. It feels like it's designed to be run on a dedicated PC, with all the services running in background, checking for new versions at OS startup, etc. I can understand it (it's intended as a part of quite specialized setup, after all) but as a hobbyist who'd run this once in a blue moon, I don't feel like running it on my general purpose, everyday use laptop. Hmm, maybe I should setup a VM for that stuff.
 

Offline Rufus

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2094
Re: EEVblog #509 - Rigol 832 Lab Power Supply
« Reply #260 on: August 28, 2013, 09:38:22 pm »
In the user manual for DP832 Rigol has a TIP:
 When powering on the Instrument after powering off it, make sure that the time interval between the two operations is greater than 5s.

Having seen the tear down I expect this 5 seconds will be to let the Micky Mouse ear NTC surge suppression thermistor cool down a bit so the toroidal transformer inrush doesn't blow fuses or weld switch contacts.
 

Offline FrankBuss

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2091
  • Country: de
    • Frank Buss
Re: EEVblog #509 - Rigol 832 Lab Power Supply
« Reply #261 on: September 08, 2013, 09:28:11 am »
I've done a review of my Siglent SPD3303D. Unfortunately a power on/off spike problem on one channel, too, and some minor problems which could be fixed by a firmware update, but the rest does what it should do:

http://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/siglent-spd3303d-review/
So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish
 

Offline lemon

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 355
  • Country: gr
Re: EEVblog #509 - Rigol 832 Lab Power Supply
« Reply #262 on: September 08, 2013, 07:35:03 pm »
I've done a look of my Rigol D832 about spikes without any load at start-up (main switch off-on). Mine 832 is revised edition.

The channel 2 & 3 has a same behavior with almost 400mV minus depth. The channel 1 is the only with different behavior and pattern (spikes almost 600mV).
Look at my attachment photo for details.
« Last Edit: September 08, 2013, 07:36:40 pm by lemon »
 

Offline mcinque

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 985
  • Country: it
  • I know one thing: that I know nothing
Re: EEVblog #509 - Rigol 832 Lab Power Supply
« Reply #263 on: September 08, 2013, 07:39:36 pm »
I'm basically still a rookie and because of this, even with the best intentions, I often say bullshit :)
 

Offline rastro

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 324
  • Country: 00
Re: EEVblog #509 - Rigol 832 Lab Power Supply
« Reply #264 on: September 09, 2013, 01:18:33 am »
I've done a look of my Rigol D832 about spikes without any load at start-up (main switch off-on). Mine 832 is revised edition.

The channel 2 & 3 has a same behavior with almost 400mV minus depth. The channel 1 is the only with different behavior and pattern (spikes almost 600mV).
Look at my attachment photo for details.
Just got mine 2 days ago and did the off-on test and got a spike a couple of times around 2.2V peak on channel-1.  It does not hit this level consistently.
I don't like the looks of this.  Hopefully this is a qualified reason for return to Tequip. 
 

Offline wizzy

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 21
Re: EEVblog #509 - Rigol 832 Lab Power Supply
« Reply #265 on: September 10, 2013, 11:04:25 am »
I had an LED connected directly to channel 1 as i was playing with current limiting and found that the spike was occasionally enough to light the LED.

It was directly connected, no resistors.
 

Offline rastro

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 324
  • Country: 00
Re: EEVblog #509 - Rigol 832 Lab Power Supply
« Reply #266 on: September 10, 2013, 12:41:39 pm »
Spoke to my vendor about voltage spike.  Tequipment U.S. said there is a recall.  I was sent an RMA form to fill out.  Just waiting for it to come back - typically 24-48 hours.    :-BROKE::phew:
 

Offline linus

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 7
Re: EEVblog #509 - Rigol 832 Lab Power Supply
« Reply #267 on: October 14, 2013, 10:43:49 am »
Hi

I got my DP832A Power Supply delivered. I did some inital tests and got the following results:

no load   SET   Readback   Measured
CH1   1.0000   0.9840   1.0015
CH2   1.0000   1.0043   0.9993
CH3   1.0000   1.0012   1.0005

CH1   5.0000   4.9845   5.0020
CH2   5.0000   5.0023   4.9980
CH3   5.0000   5.0014   5.0010

CH1   30.0000   29.9872   30.0100
CH2   30.0000   30.0010   30.0000

while CH3 is bang on, CH2 is ok, CH1 seems to be fairly off. I measured with a Agilent U1241B and had a quick chat with Rigol support. Basically they said, the Agilent can not be used to verify the output and readbyk since it is way to unacurate, I would need at least a 6.5digit Multimeter. Asking if I just should recallibrate it they recommended not to recallibrate it since it could get worse.

So what would you do? Keep it and tweak it or send it back and hope to replacement psu will perform better?

CH1 is around 17mV off. If I set the output to 17mV, readbyck shows zero. At 18mV it flickers between zero and one mV. To me, it looks like an offset since this is allmost the same over the full range.

I like the device quite a lot, the hello-kittyness is not great, beside that, I measured the current readback which is absolutely bang on on all three channels, which also is very important to me.


Cheers
Linus
 

Offline saturation

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4788
  • Country: us
  • Doveryai, no proveryai
    • NIST
Re: EEVblog #509 - Rigol 832 Lab Power Supply
« Reply #268 on: October 15, 2013, 02:13:09 am »
Hi Linus, my take is if CH2 and 3 readback fairly close to setting, then CH1 is off, even with your HH DMM.  You don't need a 6.5 digit DMM to make the adjustment, however I'd let the unit burn-in, by leaving it on for > 24 hours without a load [ 3-7 days preferred] before you consider adjusting it.
Best Wishes,

 Saturation
 

Offline linus

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 7
Re: EEVblog #509 - Rigol 832 Lab Power Supply
« Reply #269 on: October 15, 2013, 04:26:43 am »
Thanks for your thought, appreciate! Is there a how-to calibrate the DP832? Since the menu is all but not not self explanatory and the manual does not say anything about.

Linus
 

Offline Volante

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
Re: EEVblog #509 - Rigol 832 Lab Power Supply
« Reply #270 on: November 29, 2013, 12:48:30 pm »
Sorry for bumping this old thread, but does anyone know the part number for the display on the Rigol DP832. Maybe even the manufactor and the size of the screen??
 

Offline Wall-E

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 37
  • Country: nl
Re: EEVblog #509 - Rigol 832 Lab Power Supply
« Reply #271 on: January 03, 2014, 12:59:54 pm »
Re. DP832 Power Supply

Does the 1.03c Keygen still work on the DP832?  I understand that 1. Firmware 01.06.00 should be installed,  2. Install the keys, and then 3. Upgrade the firmware to 01.08.00.  Does this still work Ok?

I seem to recall that someone said they lost everything including the metering accuracy.
Is there anything to this, and if so, can it be prevented?
 

Offline ted572

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 334
  • Country: ca
Re: EEVblog #509 - Rigol 832 Lab Power Supply
« Reply #272 on: February 04, 2014, 06:02:27 am »
I want to mention that the ARRAY 3710A (150/200W Max.)or 3711A Electronic Load (300W) is great for testing the individual outputs of the DP832 Power Supply.  It of course is designed for analyzing the operation of any Power Supply, as well as the Discharge Characteristics of Batteries. For information how to use it's software with Windows 7 refer to the following: http://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/array-electronic-loads/msg376531/#msg376531
« Last Edit: February 12, 2014, 10:44:40 pm by ted572 »
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf