Author Topic: EEVblog #828 - Siglent SPD3303X precision Lab PSU Teardown  (Read 46246 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online Macbeth

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2284
  • Country: gb
Re: EEVblog #828 - Siglent SPD3303X precision Lab PSU Teardown
« Reply #150 on: December 20, 2015, 12:15:44 PM »
errrr wait a minute, even the screw thread got torn out?


Broke at the wire hole... the holes that Dave criticized for being too small!

Not fit for purpose it appears. What are they made of, the cheapest die-cast crap painted over or what?
 

Offline orin

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 318
  • Country: us
Re: EEVblog #828 - Siglent SPD3303X precision Lab PSU Teardown
« Reply #151 on: December 20, 2015, 02:10:02 PM »
errrr wait a minute, even the screw thread got torn out?


Broke at the wire hole... the holes that Dave criticized for being too small!

Not fit for purpose it appears. What are they made of, the cheapest die-cast crap painted over or what?


No idea about the base metal.  Shiny, so probably plated with something - nickel perhaps?

 

Offline SeanB

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 14391
  • Country: za
Re: EEVblog #828 - Siglent SPD3303X precision Lab PSU Teardown
« Reply #152 on: December 20, 2015, 03:38:06 PM »
Brass, but the wall thickness is so thin that it simply snapped at the thinnest part at the root of the thread, where the wall had the least area in the hole. Basically they are too thin in the wall, and need to be made larger in diameter, along with making the inner hole the correct diameter to fit the standard socket.

Basically the manufacturer took too much brass off, to cut the cost of the material used in the individual item. They probably charged Siglent the cost of the length of brass used to machine the post, adding the cost of the plating as well. The manufacturers gross profit comes from the removed brass as scrap metal to be remelted, probably around $7 per kilo.
 

Offline orin

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 318
  • Country: us
Re: EEVblog #828 - Siglent SPD3303X precision Lab PSU Teardown
« Reply #153 on: December 20, 2015, 03:59:02 PM »
Brass, but the wall thickness is so thin that it simply snapped at the thinnest part at the root of the thread, where the wall had the least area in the hole. Basically they are too thin in the wall, and need to be made larger in diameter, along with making the inner hole the correct diameter to fit the standard socket.

Basically the manufacturer took too much brass off, to cut the cost of the material used in the individual item. They probably charged Siglent the cost of the length of brass used to machine the post, adding the cost of the plating as well. The manufacturers gross profit comes from the removed brass as scrap metal to be remelted, probably around $7 per kilo.


Make a lot of sense... although now useless as a binding post, the remaining hole is still deep enough to accept a banana plug.  Deep oversized hole = more removed material to scrap.  If the hole wasn't so oversized, the binding post might have survived shipping!

 

Online madires

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3661
  • Country: de
  • A qualified hobbyist ;)
Re: EEVblog #828 - Siglent SPD3303X precision Lab PSU Teardown
« Reply #154 on: December 21, 2015, 12:40:49 AM »
Basically the manufacturer took too much brass off, to cut the cost of the material used in the individual item. They probably charged Siglent the cost of the length of brass used to machine the post, adding the cost of the plating as well. The manufacturers gross profit comes from the removed brass as scrap metal to be remelted, probably around $7 per kilo.

And Siglent just wants to address the mains wiring issue while missing the gorilla at the front door.  :palm:
FidoNet 2:240/1661
 

Offline rs20

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1950
  • Country: au
Re: EEVblog #828 - Siglent SPD3303X precision Lab PSU Teardown
« Reply #155 on: December 22, 2015, 09:35:11 AM »
Got a 5 mm hole for wire...

Er, how do you tighten down after you've placed the wire through the hole? Or are you supposed to just poke it in there and hope?

It looks more to me like that's supposed to be a right-angle banana jack hole. Sure it's not 4mm?
 

Offline Smokey

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1431
  • Country: us
Re: EEVblog #828 - Siglent SPD3303X precision Lab PSU Teardown
« Reply #156 on: December 22, 2015, 12:40:08 PM »
Got a 5 mm hole for wire...
Er, how do you tighten down after you've placed the wire through the hole? Or are you supposed to just poke it in there and hope?
It looks more to me like that's supposed to be a right-angle banana jack hole. Sure it's not 4mm?

There is always hope my friend! 
Its just to screw around a little and the wire stick!  ;)
The end holes are 4mm.... so they fit a banana plugg...

But is it RoHS???????:)
 

Offline Circlotron

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 935
  • Country: au
Re: EEVblog #828 - Siglent SPD3303X precision Lab PSU Teardown
« Reply #157 on: January 09, 2016, 01:10:54 PM »
Not sure if some already mentioned it, but in Australia at least, don't the regulations require that if you can come in contact with the output of a transformer then the primary and secondary have to be segregated as is commonly done with an EI transformer? How does a toroidal measure up in this regard?
 

Offline orin

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 318
  • Country: us
Re: EEVblog #828 - Siglent SPD3303X precision Lab PSU Teardown
« Reply #158 on: January 13, 2016, 08:52:17 AM »
Just a quick note to let everyone know that the Siglent engineering team does pay attention to your comments and suggestions. They have informed us that they are addressing the SPD3303X/X-E internal wiring placement & dressing issues pointed out on Dave's video.

Thanks
Steve


They really need to address the binding posts - see attached picture of a SPD3303D as it arrived from Tequipment.  Still haven't heard back from then what they intend to do about it...


After consulting with Siglent, TEquipment sent a replacement.  It replacement arrived today and appears to be in good shape.

A contributing factor towards the failure was immediately obvious.  The dense foam packing for the replacement has a cutout for the binding posts.  The original foam packing did not and obviously interfered with the binding post.  Presumably they used the packing meant for the rear of the instrument at the front of this particular instrument.

Orin.
 

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 9996
  • Country: nz
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist & NZ Siglent Distributor
 

Offline hipfan75

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: ca
Re: EEVblog #828 - Siglent SPD3303X precision Lab PSU Teardown
« Reply #160 on: April 15, 2016, 08:34:53 AM »
New FW for these PSU's:
http://www.siglentamerica.com/USA_website_2014/Firmware&Software/firmware/SPD3303X-P02.02R2.rar

The UI is much improved with the new firmware. It now simultaneously displays both the set values and actual readings. I've attached a couple of photos.

Regards,
HipFan75
 
The following users thanked this post: tautech

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 9996
  • Country: nz
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: EEVblog #828 - Siglent SPD3303X precision Lab PSU Teardown
« Reply #161 on: April 15, 2016, 10:43:10 AM »
New FW for these PSU's:
http://www.siglentamerica.com/USA_website_2014/Firmware&Software/firmware/SPD3303X-P02.02R2.rar

The UI is much improved with the new firmware. It now simultaneously displays both the set values and actual readings. I've attached a couple of photos.

Regards,
HipFan75
Welcome to the forum.

Thanks for taking the trouble to register here and offer feedback.  :-+



At the time of this edit, Siglent websites had not been updated to show the new UI you've provided pics of:
 
« Last Edit: February 17, 2017, 08:42:58 PM by tautech »
Avid Rabid Hobbyist & NZ Siglent Distributor
 

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 9996
  • Country: nz
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: EEVblog #828 - Siglent SPD3303X precision Lab PSU Teardown
« Reply #162 on: December 30, 2016, 07:12:27 AM »
New Firmware for SPD3303X and X-E models.
http://www.siglentamerica.com/gjjrj.aspx?id=15

From the changelog:

Summary of Changes:
1) Add the CH3’s SCPI control command.
2) Fixed a design bug about voltage setup.
3) Remove the screen saver.
« Last Edit: April 14, 2017, 07:11:38 AM by tautech »
Avid Rabid Hobbyist & NZ Siglent Distributor
 

Online JohnG

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 80
  • Country: us
Re: EEVblog #828 - Siglent SPD3303X precision Lab PSU Teardown
« Reply #163 on: April 14, 2017, 06:34:50 AM »
I have found a new problem with the SPD3303X-E, I think.

I bought the SPD3303X-E in part because I needed to be able to control it remotely and because I have been very happy with my SGD2042X.

However, I cannot reliably communicate with it. I am using Python 3.6 with Pyvisa 1.8 on a 32 bit Win 7 machine, using the latest Keysight Visa libraries, over USB. I have no problems talking to the SGD2042X, or any of my other equipment. But, I cannot talk reliably to the SPD3303X-E. If the default settings are used in Pyvisa, a supply.query('*IDN?') command times out. I got as far as finding out that it does not like the default write_termination of '\r\n', and I have to force it to '\n'. Sometimes it still seems to hang, and if I want to talk to the supply, I have to power it down and restart it.

Software: 1.01.01.02.03
Hardware: V3.0

Like I said, no issues with the SGD2042X, or any other equipment. Disappointing, because I bought this specifically for remote control purposes. Anyone have any ideas?

I would really not like to install NI-Visa to see if it works better. I have an Agilent USB-GPIB that I also need to use, and I have had repeated bad experiences with NI software, including one that required restoring my machine.

Any help appreciated.

John
 

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 9996
  • Country: nz
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: EEVblog #828 - Siglent SPD3303X precision Lab PSU Teardown
« Reply #164 on: April 14, 2017, 07:21:10 AM »
John, there are some changes coming for many instruments to allow direct control without the need for any 3rd party software. Just where the SPD3303X and X-E fit into the FW update schedule for this I yet don't know.

Could the Labview drivers be of assistance in the meanwhile or do they need VISA too ?
http://siglentamerica.com/gjjrj-xq.aspx?id=3619&tid=204

Siglent USA have a team of techs that can look into this in detail for you.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist & NZ Siglent Distributor
 

Online FrankBuss

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1813
  • Country: de
    • Frank Buss
Re: EEVblog #828 - Siglent SPD3303X precision Lab PSU Teardown
« Reply #165 on: April 14, 2017, 09:21:23 AM »
However, I cannot reliably communicate with it. I am using Python 3.6 with Pyvisa 1.8 on a 32 bit Win 7 machine, using the latest Keysight Visa libraries, over USB. I have no problems talking to the SGD2042X, or any of my other equipment. But, I cannot talk reliably to the SPD3303X-E. If the default settings are used in Pyvisa, a supply.query('*IDN?') command times out. I got as far as finding out that it does not like the default write_termination of '\r\n', and I have to force it to '\n'. Sometimes it still seems to hang, and if I want to talk to the supply, I have to power it down and restart it.

The USB code is not the best. It works if you add delays after sending the commands:

http://www.eevblog.com/forum/metrology/raspberry-pi23-logging-platform-for-voltnuts/msg1094066/#msg1094066

Online JohnG

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 80
  • Country: us
Re: EEVblog #828 - Siglent SPD3303X precision Lab PSU Teardown
« Reply #166 on: April 14, 2017, 11:53:49 AM »
John, there are some changes coming for many instruments to allow direct control without the need for any 3rd party software. Just where the SPD3303X and X-E fit into the FW update schedule for this I yet don't know.

Could the Labview drivers be of assistance in the meanwhile or do they need VISA too ?
http://siglentamerica.com/gjjrj-xq.aspx?id=3619&tid=204

Siglent USA have a team of techs that can look into this in detail for you.

Thanks, I avoid Labview. Direct control is of less interest to me personally, because pyvisa forms a consistent framework. I have other equipment that I also communicate with, so a different method means I spend more time coding, which is not really my strength nor interest. That's just me, though, I'm sure others have probably been asking for it.


The USB code is not the best. It works if you add delays after sending the commands:

http://www.eevblog.com/forum/metrology/raspberry-pi23-logging-platform-for-voltnuts/msg1094066/#msg1094066

Thanks for this. I was looking for something like this for a while, but didn't find it. While I don't like the slowness, it will work for now. Do you have any idea if it will be any better through a LAN connection? I have to learn how to do that anyway to talk to my scope.

John
 
 

Online Siglent America

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 203
  • Country: us
Re: EEVblog #828 - Siglent SPD3303X precision Lab PSU Teardown
« Reply #167 on: April 15, 2017, 03:30:56 AM »
PM sent
 

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 9996
  • Country: nz
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: EEVblog #828 - Siglent SPD3303X precision Lab PSU Teardown
« Reply #168 on: August 25, 2017, 06:17:00 AM »
We now have the correct imagery on all Siglent websites showing the GUI as it is in latest firmware versions.
For some time now the display has shown dialed in values AND actual real time load values.
http://www.siglentamerica.com/pdxx.aspx?id=1393&T=2&tid=17


« Last Edit: August 25, 2017, 07:12:34 AM by tautech »
Avid Rabid Hobbyist & NZ Siglent Distributor
 

Offline belba

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
Re: EEVblog #828 - Siglent SPD3303X precision Lab PSU Teardown
« Reply #169 on: November 11, 2017, 09:06:24 AM »
Hello,

I own a Siglent SPD3303S but the Firmware is marked the Device as a SPD3303D. The power supply shows only 2 digits after a V/A value, for example 3.00V instead 3.000V.

I have more Mysteries about my power supply Version:

At http://www.siglent.com/ENs/prodcut-dbjg.aspx?Proid=529,1142,&tid=17&id=1132&T=2 the difference between a 3303S and a 3303X ist the output voltage/current. A X-Model should have a max voltage at 32Volt and a max current at 3.2 Ampere, a S-Modell should have only 30 Volt and 3 Ampere.

If you look at my model, I have the higher output values like the modern X-model

My questions are following:

  • I have Paid for a S-model but I have not the higher resolution at the display, how can I get the higher resolution?
  • Which kind of model I own now? A SPD3303S-, SPD3303D-, SPD3303X- or a SPD3303X-E-model
  • I would like to have also the improved firmware too and I'm very shure, that the Hardware is not really different between the models, is there a improved firmware for my, whatever model, aviable?
 

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 9996
  • Country: nz
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: EEVblog #828 - Siglent SPD3303X precision Lab PSU Teardown
« Reply #170 on: November 11, 2017, 09:14:18 AM »
Hello,

I own a Siglent SPD3303S but the Firmware is marked the Device as a SPD3303D. The power supply shows only 2 digits after a V/A value, for example 3.00V instead 3.000V.

I have more Mysteries about my power supply Version:

At http://www.siglent.com/ENs/prodcut-dbjg.aspx?Proid=529,1142,&tid=17&id=1132&T=2 the difference between a 3303S and a 3303X ist the output voltage/current. A X-Model should have a max voltage at 32Volt and a max current at 3.2 Ampere, a S-Modell should have only 30 Volt and 3 Ampere.

If you look at my model, I have the higher output values like the modern X-model

My questions are following:

  • I have Paid for a S-model but I have not the higher resolution at the display, how can I get the higher resolution?
  • Which kind of model I own now? A SPD3303S-, SPD3303D-, SPD3303X- or a SPD3303X-E-model
  • I would like to have also the improved firmware too and I'm very shure, that the Hardware is not really different between the models, is there a improved firmware for my, whatever model, aviable?
There's two very similar firmware versions for the S and D models, both are 6R2 versions.
Be sure to install the S version, you can find it here:
http://siglentamerica.com/gjjrj-xq.aspx?id=1223&tid=15
Avid Rabid Hobbyist & NZ Siglent Distributor
 

Offline Smokey

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1431
  • Country: us
Re: EEVblog #828 - Siglent SPD3303X precision Lab PSU Teardown
« Reply #171 on: November 11, 2017, 10:57:28 AM »
What is the highest rate that I can remotely change the output voltage on one channel and read the current on the other channel?

For background, see http://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/rigol-dp832-remote-command-update-rate/
 

Offline Smokey

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1431
  • Country: us
Re: EEVblog #828 - Siglent SPD3303X precision Lab PSU Teardown
« Reply #172 on: November 14, 2017, 11:39:32 AM »
Just one bump in case anyone knows the remote update rate of this thing...
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf