EEVblog Electronics Community Forum

EEVblog => EEVblog Specific => Topic started by: JS on December 08, 2016, 11:50:33 am

Title: EEVblog #953 (altium ok-bug-it-is)
Post by: JS on December 08, 2016, 11:50:33 am
Found it!

Double click on the output job, check "report supressed" box. done!
Also check that each output job, in the same place, has it's own conection matrix (one of the tab double clicking on the output job)

I didn't found an open topic on this, hope isn't a problem to start one. I'm on AD16 just in case.

JS
Title: Re: EEVblog #953 (altium not-a-bug fix)
Post by: EEVblog on December 08, 2016, 12:54:42 pm
Didn't know that, but nope, doesn't fix it.
With two output pins shorted it is not detected unless you chose "Project" as the data source.
Title: Re: EEVblog #953 (altium not-a-bug fix)
Post by: JS on December 08, 2016, 01:52:09 pm
I see, It's making something extrange to me. If I have the report open and click on that box, either to enable or disable, it shows the complete error list.

I placed a generic ADC with a bunch of outputs tied to VCC and the proper basic connections for misc stuff. It does generate the output errors while compiling the project.

I can't find a solution, I'll come back here if I do... sorry for the false alarm! I'm guessing theres a trap on configuration parameters, that's the trap for such huge tool, too many options useful in some cases and a pain when you don't know exactly what you are looking for, even if it's not a bug and config can solve it could be called a bug for being like so, or not being the default you want,  :-//

JS
Title: Re: EEVblog #953 (altium ok-bug-it-is)
Post by: T3sl4co1l on December 11, 2016, 03:17:26 am
Double click where?  OutJobs have no properties of their own.  The Output Container and Outputs items have double-click options.

Tim
Title: Re: EEVblog #953 (altium ok-bug-it-is)
Post by: beaker353 on December 19, 2016, 03:01:56 pm
Though it doesn't seem to be attracting the same amount of forum chatter, I thought #953 was quite useful for the engineering students like myself out there. Proper schematic & EDA practices seem to be an educational afterthought at best for my particular EET program. I've pretty much taught myself DipTrace and have a fairly good stranglehold on most of the even more advanced features, except the ERC and the associated pin properties. After diving in I ran into two pin electric types that I can't seem to understand: "Passive High" & "Passive Low". There already is simply a "Passive" type, so I'm at a loss for when "High" and "Low" should be chosen. The default ERC settings only throw an error when "Passive Low" or "Passive High" is connected to type "Power", but straight "Passive" isn't set to throw an error under circumstances. Any advice for what these are intended for? Attached is the default ERC settings window.

-EM
Title: Re: EEVblog #953 (altium ok-bug-it-is)
Post by: EEVblog on December 19, 2016, 07:46:35 pm
Though it doesn't seem to be attracting the same amount of forum chatter

It's my lowest viewed video in many years I think. I guess people don't care about ERC?