Author Topic: Tektronix 460A oscilloscope problem.  (Read 2385 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline stratogazer

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 15
  • Country: us
  • Rank Amateur
Tektronix 460A oscilloscope problem.
« on: October 09, 2012, 09:07:41 am »
Hi, all. Hope you can help me. I have a Tektronix 460A scope I bought used. All self tests pass. all waveforms generated internally look as they should.

The problem occurs when I try to measure a waveform made by something else - a battery operated voltage controlled oscillator for example. The VCO generates triangle and square waves. I see the wave form but SUPERIMPOSED ON TO A 60 HZ SINE WAVE.  In fact, everything I try to measure is on top of the 60 HZ sine wave.

I replaced the input filter. This had no effect. I inspected the power supply PCBs. There is no obvious signs of damage. The house AC is well grounded as is the scope. What else should I check??

Thanks in advance.
Learnin' little by little .  .  .
 

Offline SeanB

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 15050
  • Country: za
Re: Tektronix 460A oscilloscope problem.
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2012, 03:38:30 pm »
Probe ground lead open circuit? Check continuity of the probe to the scope case, and from the tip to the centre set to X1.
 

Offline stratogazer

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 15
  • Country: us
  • Rank Amateur
Re: Tektronix 460A oscilloscope problem.
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2012, 09:10:51 am »
I checked the probe continuity as you suggested. The ground clip has good continuity as does the probe tip to the input connector inside. The ground clip has continuity all the way back to the AC socket.

Any other ideas? Appreciate all suggestions. Thanks in advance.
Learnin' little by little .  .  .
 

Offline TerminalJack505

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1205
  • Country: 00
Re: Tektronix 460A oscilloscope problem.
« Reply #3 on: October 11, 2012, 10:11:51 am »
You are connecting the ground clip to your circuit's ground, right?  And have the scope switched to DC coupling?
 

Offline stratogazer

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 15
  • Country: us
  • Rank Amateur
Re: Tektronix 460A oscilloscope problem.
« Reply #4 on: October 12, 2012, 12:23:28 pm »
Yes, I've tried connecting the ground clip to earth ground, circuit ground, case ground, any ground I can reach - same result.

 About the DC coupling, I'm not sure. I'll have to check to make sure.

Thanks very much for the suggestion.
Learnin' little by little .  .  .
 

Offline stratogazer

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 15
  • Country: us
  • Rank Amateur
Re: Tektronix 460A oscilloscope problem.
« Reply #5 on: October 15, 2012, 10:18:25 am »
Thanks TerminalJack! That was exactly the problem! When the 460A powers up the status page indicates that it is DC coupled. HOWEVER! Upon selecting the "triggering" page I found the scope was, in fact,  using AC coupling. When I switched it to DC coupling the scope worked as it should. Pays to double check. Thanks again for the solution. :D
Learnin' little by little .  .  .
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf