Author Topic: Wanted budget power supply  (Read 2705 times)

Online RajTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
  • Self taught, experimenter, noob(ish)
Wanted budget power supply
« on: September 22, 2018, 03:31:09 pm »
    Looking for a power supply, with
    • under 120 USD
  • atleast upto 15volts out
[/s](well 13.8 is fine for now. don't need regulation on any application going above that voltage so can use variac instead)
  • 5amp capability
  • fine voltage control
  • current limit
  • low or no cooldown time ( should be able to run for a long time without overheating,thus leading to thermal safety to trigger a shutdown)
  • low ripple
  • From a good company
  • accurate display
[/s] (can add a display later)
[/list]

Could have made a lm 338 based one but those run quite hot at amps as low as 1A plus I don't wanna work my brains out looking for best power transistors and input dials and indicator displays, when I have the money.
« Last Edit: September 23, 2018, 04:08:37 pm by Raj »

Offline sn4k3

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Wanted budget power supply
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2018, 04:38:15 pm »
Look at Korad KA3005P or Korad KA3005D, it's inside your price range and good for it price. Also at that price there aren't that many chooise to go.
That power supply is programable and with presets, you can choose the current and voltage before turn on the output.
« Last Edit: September 22, 2018, 04:43:38 pm by sn4k3 »

Online RajTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2018, 04:34:58 am »
Look at Korad KA3005P or Korad KA3005D, it's inside your price range and good for it price. Also at that price there aren't that many chooise to go.
That power supply is programable and with presets, you can choose the current and voltage before turn on the output.
Those look good.How good are they? It seems a bit overbuilt yet spikey when turned on( as describes in buyer review) but I kinda like your suggestion.