Author Topic: Where to buy  (Read 10773 times)

Offline Mr.BatataTopic starter

Where to buy
« on: August 26, 2014, 11:06:29 pm »
Hi so I am looking for a decent soldering iron (EU plug) with heat control.
But I'm really a noob (starting in Electronics) in this subject and I was wondering if you can point me the right direction.

Are there any under 50€? I'm not looking for any professional thing just enough to solder and desolder components.

Thanks in advance,
Potato

Offline nanofrog

• Super Contributor
Re: Where to buy
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2014, 01:51:28 am »
Where exactly are you located?

If you go into your user profile and set your country, the flag will be displayed under your userID for each post. Makes it a lot easier to post relevant links (i.e. availability & pricing).  ;)

For that kind of budget, you're going to be hard pressed to get quality, other than used. New, you'll be looking at Chinese stations. May work, but won't win any performance awards, may not be comfortable enough to use for an extended period of time (i.e. iron handle gets hot after ~1 hour). There can also be safety issues, so it's a really good idea to go over their internals before ever plugging it in to catch any glaring wiring faults.

Used is a viable option IMHO, but at your current budget, even this may be tough to pull off (you'll want a working unit that has the minimum number of pieces to work as shipped). If you do buy used, make sure you can get tips before buying, and ideally, spare parts as well (heaters, iron, ...). For a new, brand name station, you might want to take a look at an Ersa iCon Nano (nice balance of price & performance in the EU market).

Either way, I suspect you'll have to save up additional funds if you want a decent quality unit.

Offline Mr.BatataTopic starter

« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2014, 02:15:23 am »
Where exactly are you located?

Totally forgot the most important part :P (solved) I'm in Portugal.