Author Topic: Advice on a new multimeter  (Read 3229 times)

Offline WebserferTopic starter

Advice on a new multimeter
« on: November 25, 2015, 10:11:17 pm »
So been watching the EEV blog YouTube videos and this seems like the best place to get advice. I'm looking to buy a new multi meter, recently found out the one I grew up with and have been using for 5-7years is a cheapy one. Like the $4 you find on ebay just older, has been rather reliable but I cant be sure of its accuracy anymore. I'm not an electrician but I do mess around with lithium batteries and other stuff that would need a good level of accuracy.

So im looking for a meter that I can trust, reliable brand and will last longer than my cell phone.
I could go up to maybe $100aud but but that's at the very high point of my budget and I'd only like to spend that much if the jump in price is worth it.
If it's much cheaper just for a slight quality drop id take that.

So, who can help me out here?

Cheers.

Offline tautech

• Super Contributor
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Advice on a new multimeter
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2015, 10:14:24 pm »
Welcome to the forum.

Have you seen this thread?
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/multimeter-spreadsheet/
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
Siglent Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/@SiglentVideo/videos

Offline daybyter

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2015, 10:59:53 pm »
Uni-t 61e ?

Offline FireFlower

• Regular Contributor
  • Wish had a cabin in Lappland
« Reply #3 on: November 26, 2015, 12:01:33 am »
Yeah I would say Uni-T UT61E is the best meter within your budget.

Offline Muttley Snickers

• Supporter
  • Cursed: 679 times
« Reply #4 on: November 26, 2015, 12:53:39 am »