Author Topic: Arduino game consoles?  (Read 2642 times)

Offline kalelTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Arduino game consoles?
« on: September 24, 2017, 04:59:47 pm »
I was able to find gamebuino and a few other projects, but I'm interested in seeing other consoles/DIY projects too. If any forum members might have made a game with Arduino or a similar easy to use package, I would love to see it.

While of course you can get a Pi and load some emulator and get a probably high quality console (depending mostly on the chosen screen, case, etc), I'd like to see simpler and cheaper solutions. I loved watching Ashen's videos on weird game consoles (there's quite a few "popstation" videos), and I'd like to see more home made ones.
« Last Edit: September 24, 2017, 05:12:17 pm by kalel »

Offline TK

• Super Contributor
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
Re: Arduino game consoles?
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2017, 06:47:29 pm »
There is a Gameboy type Arduino game console named Arduboy: https://arduboy.com/

The following users thanked this post: kalel

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2017, 07:02:04 pm »
There is a Gameboy type Arduino game console named Arduboy: https://arduboy.com/

Looks good. If ever making such a project, I thought about the possibility of reusing a case from a cheap Chinese handheld, as 3D printing would be more expensive (except maybe for those that have a 3D printer). Then, all dimensions of all of the components would need to fit (without even knowing the exact case dimensions). There are also cases for gameboys and etc. but I'm not sure that's preferred to a generic Chinese handheld case anyway (although the dimensions might be known).

As for reusing any parts, perhaps the tiny speaker would be the only reusable thing. Display not likely. Button caps possibly, but those would need to be used anyway as they are a part of the case.
« Last Edit: September 24, 2017, 07:03:38 pm by kalel »

Offline Yansi