Author Topic: Automotive TPMS - DIY?  (Read 7709 times)

Offline glarsson

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Automotive TPMS - DIY?
« Reply #25 on: April 24, 2018, 06:35:41 pm »
I was a TPMS developer for 5 years (2006-2011):
Perhaps you can answer a question I have been unable to get an answer to. The TPMS system used by Saab (RIP) (and most likely other GM brands) used different TMPS systems for the US market vs. the rest of the world. The main hardware difference (as described in the workshop manual) was that the sensors used for the US market only reported pressure and the sensors for all other markets reported both pressure and temperature. Do you know the reason for this difference?

Online Zucca

• Supporter
  • EE meid in Itali
« Reply #26 on: April 24, 2018, 06:47:27 pm »
Do you know the reason for this difference?

All the sensors I know read out temperature and pressure and send them to the car. What then the car will report depends not by the sensor but is a HIM development choice. Normally there was no need to tell the T, just the P. The car knows everything, it just tells you what develpmpent/law think you need.

Maybe the old Saab sensor needed to send just the pressure and the temperature was not necessary back in those days. I can imagine in the first TMPS systems the T was not a concern, so the sensor hat only the P and no T on the radio to save battery energy.
« Last Edit: April 24, 2018, 06:49:49 pm by zucca »
Can't know what you don't love. St. Augustine
Can't love what you don't know. Zucca

Offline IanMacdonald

• Frequent Contributor
    • IWR Consultancy
« Reply #27 on: April 24, 2018, 09:51:35 pm »
Isn't so great  in the EU, where if it goes wrong it's an MoT failure. So we now have a situation where all non-mandatory safety features are a potential liability that can put your car off the road.

Offline CJay

• Super Contributor
« Reply #28 on: April 25, 2018, 09:57:33 am »