Author Topic: Ebay global shipping - Pitney Bowes scam?  (Read 12447 times)

Online wraper

• Supporter
Re: Ebay global shipping - Pitney Bowes scam?
« Reply #25 on: February 16, 2018, 10:32:11 am »
I'm not a lawyer nor anything remotely resembling it, but that is illegal. An invoice with a clear statement of the VAT paid is mandatory no matter you are a business or a consumer.
No it's not. You are not paying to EU company. Therefore no VAT in the invoice. You pay for all expenses (including VAT which will be paid) to get your goods cleared at customs, that does not mean they technically can or are obliged provide a VAT invoice to you.

Whatever you pay must be reflected in an invoice, period.

You don't pay to an European company, but you pay local VAT to Customs? You must receive an invoice. If the courier is doing the paperwork for you they must still provide an invoice. Exchanges of money for goods or services are reflected in invoices.
How do you expect VAT to be present if there is no VAT paid as such at the moment when you pay to Pitney Bowes? It is not a EU company and therefore it cannot state VAT. You pay them for service (where they spend that money later for paying taxes, including paying VAT to the customs) and they have no VAT number to begin with. If they state the VAT in the invoice, IMO it becomes a fraudulent invoice that very moment. Want a proper invoice for customs clearance, pay usual customs broker price for companies (like EUR 50 here). I don't like to be a devil's advocate here, but what is people call fraud - is not. And what they want from Pitney Bowes does not make legal sense in current process how GSP works.

Online mikeselectricstuff

• Super Contributor
    • Mike's Electric Stuff
« Reply #26 on: February 16, 2018, 10:49:26 am »
GSP should be avoided wherever possible. They have been known to destroy items they think might be hazardous ( like nixie and vacuum tubes) with no enquiries or recourse.