Author Topic: Inspection/Soldering Microscope, how to increase focal length?  (Read 3092 times)

Offline cprosserTopic starter

• Contributor
Hi Folks,

I had largely stopped doing electronics work because of my neck and upper back. I'm very tall, with most of my height in my torso, and 45 years of hunching to get to everything took a toll on me. I have the back pain much better managed now, so I'd like to get an inspection scope to reduce the need for hunching, and start doing some electronics again. But even a 9" focal length is too short for me (like on this one at Amazon: http://a.co/j4cI9jn ).

Is it possible to increase the focal length on that? I'm new to investigating microscopes and don't have the terminology down, so I can't quite figure it out from my research.

thanks,
Chris

Offline mcinque

• Supporter
  • I know that I know nothing
Re: Inspection/Soldering Microscope, how to increase focal length?
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2018, 03:46:07 pm »
For me worked to have an additional 0.5X lens that will decrease of a half the magnification but will greatly increase focal length.

Offline helius

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2018, 03:51:49 pm »
It is possible to increase the working distance if you can attach a Barlow lens of fractional power (such as 0.75x or 0.5x), but this decreases the magnification factor of the microscope.

Offline cprosserTopic starter

• Contributor
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2018, 11:31:50 pm »
Great, thanks for the pointer. Barlow Lens is the term of art I needed to keep my search going. Looks like there's nothing available for the cheaper SE-Series scope I was looking at. Hmmm, time to keep searching.

Offline duak

• Super Contributor
« Reply #4 on: July 24, 2018, 12:13:55 am »