3 (18.8%)
25% Work 75% Unit is broken
0 (0%)
0% Work 100% Unit is broken - CRAP!
0 (0%)
Can´t tell, not enough info on the table
1 (6.3%)

Total Members Voted: 15

Author Topic: GUESS GAME - After transportation abuse, HP DL380 G6 Server is dead or alive?  (Read 7974 times)

Offline ZuccaTopic starter

• Supporter
  • EE meid in Itali
Folks,

I am leaving USA and going back to Europe. As a last gift from the amazing goldmine USA ebay.com I got a Server HP DL380 G6. Please forgive me I am not an expert on servers.

See auction here:
eBay auction: #131366399046

The unit I got has no RAM, no HDD, no batteries inside.
Thanks to USPS and Xmas time the server came in exactely the day I was packing up my home.

The package was worst than horrible (click on the pictures for bigger size)

and the unit got beaten up pretty well on the rear (the rails are gone)

and a little less in the front, see below the left bracket

and the bent right one

Since I had no time for a proper test here what I did:

1) Open the unit and took a visual look inside for damages --> PASSED no damage found
2) Plug the AC cord in the PSU #1, was the AC light ON is the front --> PASSED
3) Start the Server as it was with no monitor attached nothing --> FAILED unit was beeping (maybe RAM was missing?) and fans where not running like a Jet (as a normal server does during start up)
4) Disconneted PSU#1 and plug the AC cord in the PSU #2, was the AC light ON is the front --> PASSED
5) Start the Server as it was with no monitor attached nothing --> PASSED fans going like a Jet!
At this point I thought the PSU1# was gone
4) Disconneted PSU#2 and plug the AC cord in the PSU #1, was the AC light ON is the front --> PASSED
5) Start the Server as it was with no monitor attached nothing --> PASSED fans going like a Jet!  :wtf:

I had no other time for further tests. Returning the item was out of discussion because I had not ime and because in Europe those server are more expensive. I took the risk to keep it.