Author Topic: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts  (Read 1093386 times)

0 Members and 10 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline gnif

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1056
  • Country: au
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #250 on: April 03, 2013, 11:59:25 pm »
I hoped for the soft straps because I wanted a way of finding a resistor configuration that combined with the soft straps could take a card from GTX to Quadro and back just by changing the soft straps.

You could always hotglue some dip-switches to it and wire them up with wire-wrap.
HostFission - Full Server Monitoring and Management Solutions.
https://hostfission.com/
https://twitter.com/HostFission

I volunteer my time to manage this server, if you would like to support this work I have a patreon here:
https://www.patreon.com/gnif
 

Offline amigo

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 108
  • Professional Wannabe
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #251 on: April 04, 2013, 12:05:34 am »
You could always hotglue some dip-switches to it and wire them up with wire-wrap.

Meh. I suppose if I want both worlds it'll have to come down to routing wires across the board.

I thought that would've been a messy solution, so I didn't order any dip-switches...and now it bites me back. :)
 

Offline verybigbadboy

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 38
  • Country: ru
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #252 on: April 05, 2013, 10:58:27 pm »
Hello all again ;) I have good news.

I successfully modified
Zotac PCI-E NV ZT-60206-10L GT640 Synergy 2G 128bit DDR3 900/1600 DVI*2+mHDMI RTL
To NVIDIA GRID K1. It is working fine. passthough works too. BUT Device ID mofidication posible only after bios modification. Bios modification is needed only for specific vendors.

upd:
myweb found resistor places for  Asus GT640-1GD3-L, no bios modification is needed. pic attached to post.

Benchmark:
http://www.ozone3d.net/benchmarks/furmark_192_score.php?id=121229

Also I tested NVIDIA Quadro K600. it works.
http://www.ozone3d.net/benchmarks/furmark_192_score.php?id=121226

I not tested NVIDIA Quadro K2000 but i think it will work too.

About modification:
all resistors are soldered at back side.
http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Zotac/GeForce_GT_640/images/back_full.jpg

Device id
GT640 0FC1
GTX650 0FC6
GRID K1 0FF2
Quadro K600 0FFA
Quadro K2000 0FFE

Initial values are:
indexmeaningresistance
13 byte C D25k
23 byte F none
34 byte values 0-710k
44 byte values 8-fnone

device nameR1R2R3R4
GT 64025knone10knone
GTX 65025knone35knone
Quadro K600none40knone15k
GRID K1none40k15knone
K2000none40knone35K

And you should use unlocked bios. Unlocked bios removed from post due to it is a copyrighted work.
To unlock bios you need to change masks and update checksum.
0000000010: 08 E2 00 00 00 04 00 00 ? 02 10 10 82 FF C3 FF 2F
0000000020: 00 04 00 80
to
0000000010: 08 E2 00 00 00 04 00 00 ? 02 10 10 82 FF FF FF 7F
0000000020: 00 00 00 80
and update bios checksum.

It is not possible to change device id without bios modification for this card.

it is may not necessary to change bios if you using other vendor gt640 card (not Zotac).
To check  "is your bios good for hard mode" you need to do next steps:

1. Create boot dos flash with nvflash.exe tool.
2. Save bios by nvflash --save yourgt640biosname.rom (name should be 8 symbols max long)
3. Create a bios backup.
4. Open bios in any hex editor and check bios values at
0000000010: ?? ?? ?? ?? ?? ?? ?? ?? | ?? ?? ?? ?? FF FF FF 7F;  ?? - any value is good
0000000020: 00 00 00 80
if values are equal your bios is good and you don't need to change anything. else step 4.
4. Change values to be equal values from 4.
5. Update checksum. I do it by nibitor tool. just open bios rom and save it. It produces lot of warnings, but it is ok.
6. Upload bios back to card.
Now you can change values by resistors ;)
« Last Edit: May 22, 2013, 07:30:21 pm by verybigbadboy »
6'7''
 
The following users thanked this post: variance

Offline gnif

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1056
  • Country: au
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #253 on: April 05, 2013, 11:07:34 pm »
Hello all again ;) I have good news.

I successfully modified
Zotac PCI-E NV ZT-60206-10L GT640 Synergy 2G 128bit DDR3 900/1600 DVI*2+mHDMI RTL
To NVIDIA GRID K1. It is working fine. passthough works too. BUT It is posible after bios modification. Bios modification is needed only for specific vendors.

Great work!

And you should use unlocked bios gt640om.rom. I attached it to post.
original bios is gt640ori.rom. I changed masks and updated checksum.

Please remove the BIOS from here, it is a copyrighted work and could bring NVidia down on this forum.
HostFission - Full Server Monitoring and Management Solutions.
https://hostfission.com/
https://twitter.com/HostFission

I volunteer my time to manage this server, if you would like to support this work I have a patreon here:
https://www.patreon.com/gnif
 

Offline Neo_Moucha

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 18
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #254 on: April 06, 2013, 01:32:33 am »

upd:
removing resistor 1 may cause random ID changes after reboot :) I will update post after i solve it


Any news about this? :)
 

Offline gnif

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1056
  • Country: au
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #255 on: April 06, 2013, 01:36:44 am »

upd:
removing resistor 1 may cause random ID changes after reboot :) I will update post after i solve it


Any news about this? :)

I have a donated 680 coming in a few days, I will see if I can track this down. All my SMD components arrived also, so can do a professional rework now :).

Note: donated for testing, not for keeps :(
« Last Edit: April 06, 2013, 01:49:08 am by gnif »
HostFission - Full Server Monitoring and Management Solutions.
https://hostfission.com/
https://twitter.com/HostFission

I volunteer my time to manage this server, if you would like to support this work I have a patreon here:
https://www.patreon.com/gnif
 

Offline Neo_Moucha

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 18
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #256 on: April 06, 2013, 01:38:10 am »
this is great news gnif!!! :)
I have a GTX 680 ready for making the mod after it is resolved >D
 

Offline verybigbadboy

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 38
  • Country: ru
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #257 on: April 06, 2013, 04:05:11 am »

upd:
removing resistor 1 may cause random ID changes after reboot :) I will update post after i solve it


Any news about this? :)

just removing resistor is not good idea. Value on pin may change randomly because pin is not connected. It is needs to be connected with 40k resistor. I have not tried to find right place for it yet, because it happened once after kernel panic& hard reset ;) and reboot again solve this.
it is still actual issue.

6'7''
 

Offline smiddereens

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #258 on: April 07, 2013, 05:50:02 am »
I successfully modified
Zotac PCI-E NV ZT-60206-10L GT640 Synergy 2G 128bit DDR3 900/1600 DVI*2+mHDMI RTL
To NVIDIA GRID K1. It is working fine. passthough works too. BUT Device ID mofidication posible only after bios modification. Bios modification is needed only for specific vendors.

Congratulations on the mod! I'm interested in doing the same thing with my GT 640 but it appears that its PCB is laid out quite differently from yours. It is an EVGA 02G-P4-2645-KR, a photo of its back is attached.

Does this mean that I would need to remove the cooling unit to reach the necessary resistors?
 

Offline verybigbadboy

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 38
  • Country: ru
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #259 on: April 07, 2013, 06:53:28 am »
Does this mean that I would need to remove the cooling unit to reach the necessary resistors?

Yes.

gt 640 front pic:
http://www.hdd.com.pl/zdjecia/106545/VGA/NVD/VGAEVGNVD0260/2.jpg
I just looked your card and i think u10 is eeprom. you need to check resistors around it.
« Last Edit: April 07, 2013, 08:21:25 am by verybigbadboy »
6'7''
 

Offline jnowak1054

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #260 on: April 08, 2013, 12:47:03 pm »
Looking at the new gtx 650 Ti Boost, it looks to be almost identical to the Quadro K4000 short the memory (same processor and cuda core count.) Would it be a hardware only or a require bios or softstrap mod as well to be done properly?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814133485
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814130909
 

Offline verybigbadboy

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 38
  • Country: ru
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #261 on: April 08, 2013, 08:09:45 pm »
Looking at the new gtx 650 Ti Boost, it looks to be almost identical to the Quadro K4000 short the memory (same processor and cuda core count.) Would it be a hardware only or a require bios or softstrap mod as well to be done properly?
It is impossible to say until someone get bios from card.
6'7''
 

Offline ks6g10

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #262 on: April 09, 2013, 12:18:42 am »
For those whom have changed their "model" of their cards, does this enable use of nvidia-smi options, and does it enables use of higher versions of CUDA functions?

E.g. going from CUDA version 3.0 (GTX 670) to 3.5 (K20) would enable Funnel shift as described in http://stackoverflow.com/questions/12767113/funnel-shift-what-is-it

Thank you.
 

Offline myweb

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
  • Country: by
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #263 on: April 09, 2013, 07:22:21 am »
Dear All,
I have Asus GT640-1GD3-L card and I would like to make it recognizable as K2000 in order to have working VGA Passthrough in XEN (currently guest Windows recognizes card as gt640, but show error 43).
Please find bellow Asus GT640-1GD3-L photos:
http://www.overclockers.ru/images/lab/2012/12/24/1/15_ASUS_back_big.jpg
http://www.overclockers.ru/images/lab/2012/12/24/1/18_ASUS_PCB_big.jpg
Could you please specify which resistors on the photo should be replaced?
Is it a software method how to make Asus GT640-1GD3-L recognizable as K2000?
I already have checked the BIOS:
Code: [Select]
010: 08 e2 00 00 00 04 00 00 02 10 10 82 ff ff ff 7f
020: 00 00 00 80 0e 10 10 82 ff ff ff 7f 00 00 00 80
Looks like the BIOS id correct.
 

Offline airthimble

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #264 on: April 09, 2013, 01:30:17 pm »
For those whom have changed their "model" of their cards, does this enable use of nvidia-smi options, and does it enables use of higher versions of CUDA functions?

E.g. going from CUDA version 3.0 (GTX 670) to 3.5 (K20) would enable Funnel shift as described in http://stackoverflow.com/questions/12767113/funnel-shift-what-is-it

Thank you.

From what I understand this wouldn't be possible, 670 uses the GK104 chip while the K20 uses the GK110, I don't think the 670 has the hardware to support these features.
 

Offline verybigbadboy

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 38
  • Country: ru
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #265 on: April 09, 2013, 05:37:04 pm »
Hello myweb,
Dear All,
I have Asus GT640-1GD3-L card and I would like to make it recognizable as K2000 in order to have working VGA Passthrough in XEN (currently guest Windows recognizes card as gt640, but show error 43).
Quadro K2000 does not support gpu passthrough.
http://wiki.xen.org/wiki/Xen_VGA_Passthrough_Tested_Adapters
http://hcl.xensource.com/GPUPass-throughDeviceList.aspx
you need to modify it to GRID K1

Please find bellow Asus GT640-1GD3-L photos:
http://www.overclockers.ru/images/lab/2012/12/24/1/15_ASUS_back_big.jpg
http://www.overclockers.ru/images/lab/2012/12/24/1/18_ASUS_PCB_big.jpg
Could you please specify which resistors on the photo should be replaced?
It is hard to say without ohmmeter where resistors are located.
I not sure but I think they are near big capacitors and i think top sop-8 IC is EEPROM. Resistors located on front and back near empty resistor places. If you have ohmmeter you can try it to find by yourself.

Is it a software method how to make Asus GT640-1GD3-L recognizable as K2000?
I already have checked the BIOS:
Code: [Select]
010: 08 e2 00 00 00 04 00 00 02 10 10 82 ff ff ff 7f
020: 00 00 00 80 0e 10 10 82 ff ff ff 7f 00 00 00 80
Looks like the BIOS id correct.
Your bios is great. You need change resistors only.
6'7''
 

Offline seneelya

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: ua
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #266 on: April 10, 2013, 04:10:50 am »
hello every one!
First of all i`m very happy about you great and very important work!

i`m follow this topic since the very begining of it and i`m very very interested in this genius modification because it is only one possible solution for me(and not only for me) to obtain "REAL"   ;) K5000 in near future.
But as i see only one performance test in professional software (specviewperf 11) was done with very sad results.

So does the hope exist to unlock professional openGl performance features in some future? or may be one of hard + soft modifications already done it? i mean GT 640 -> K2000 or similar.

i have one quadro 4000 at work so if i can do smth not destructible with it for the Great Future =) i will do it for you.
 

Offline myweb

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
  • Country: by
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #267 on: April 10, 2013, 06:14:04 am »
Quadro K2000 does not support gpu passthrough.
http://wiki.xen.org/wiki/Xen_VGA_Passthrough_Tested_Adapters
http://hcl.xensource.com/GPUPass-throughDeviceList.aspx
you need to modify it to GRID K1
I am confused: information provided via mentioned links confirms than k2000 works with XEN Passthrough. Please correct me if I understood the information incorectly.

It is hard to say without ohmmeter where resistors are located.
I not sure but I think they are near big capacitors and i think top sop-8 IC is EEPROM. Resistors located on front and back near empty resistor places. If you have ohmmeter you can try it to find by yourself.
Yes, I have ohmmeter  - I will try to find some, but I need start region (the place where needed resistor could be located from your point of view). Please find bellow detailed photo of Pm25LD020 and area around plus back side (it would be nice if you could highlight the resistors that I should check at first):
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/52618061/IMG_0249.JPG
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/52618061/IMG_0250.JPG
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/52618061/IMG_0251.JPG
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/52618061/IMG_0253.JPG
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/52618061/IMG_0254.JPG
« Last Edit: April 10, 2013, 06:57:53 am by myweb »
 

Offline verybigbadboy

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 38
  • Country: ru
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #268 on: April 10, 2013, 05:04:37 pm »
Quadro K2000 does not support gpu passthrough.
http://wiki.xen.org/wiki/Xen_VGA_Passthrough_Tested_Adapters
http://hcl.xensource.com/GPUPass-throughDeviceList.aspx
you need to modify it to GRID K1
I am confused: information provided via mentioned links confirms than k2000 works with XEN Passthrough. Please correct me if I understood the information incorectly.
I think you mixing up Quadro 2000 and Quadro K2000, it is different cards.
Please read links again ;)

Yes, I have ohmmeter  - I will try to find some, but I need start region (the place where needed resistor could be located from your point of view). Please find bellow detailed photo of Pm25LD020 and area around plus back side (it would be nice if you could highlight the resistors that I should check at first):
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/52618061/IMG_0249.JPG
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/52618061/IMG_0250.JPG
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/52618061/IMG_0251.JPG
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/52618061/IMG_0253.JPG
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/52618061/IMG_0254.JPG

So I traced pin 6 from eeprom photos and I think:
R532 is R1 and should be 25k
R558 is R2
from http://www.eevblog.com/forum/projects/hacking-nvidia-cards-into-their-professional-counterparts/msg213332/#msg213332

So you need to find R3 and R4 places. you need to find 10k resistor with empty place near.
just unsolder every 10k resistor step by step, test pci device id and solder resistor back.
It may help, look at picture in my post, it was 5k and 10k resistors near R3 and R4 in my case.
Afraid to unsolder 10k resistors which connected to fets.
« Last Edit: April 10, 2013, 05:08:15 pm by verybigbadboy »
6'7''
 

Offline silicman

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #269 on: April 10, 2013, 10:28:48 pm »
I've got my PNY GTX 670. Can I follow you guide "mod GTX 680" to a Quadro?
I'm not an electrician. I just like kind of your works guys. I think it risky a bit. but it ok. I love your works.
« Last Edit: April 10, 2013, 11:43:10 pm by silicman »
 

Offline myweb

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
  • Country: by
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #270 on: April 11, 2013, 07:22:24 am »
I think you mixing up Quadro 2000 and Quadro K2000, it is different cards.
Please read links again ;)
Yes, You are right :)

So I traced pin 6 from eeprom photos and I think:
R532 is R1 and should be 25k
R558 is R2
from http://www.eevblog.com/forum/projects/hacking-nvidia-cards-into-their-professional-counterparts/msg213332/#msg213332

So you need to find R3 and R4 places. you need to find 10k resistor with empty place near.
just unsolder every 10k resistor step by step, test pci device id and solder resistor back.
It may help, look at picture in my post, it was 5k and 10k resistors near R3 and R4 in my case.
Afraid to unsolder 10k resistors which connected to fets.
You are right again: R532 is 25K and it's R1, R558 is R2
R3 and R4 are resistors near the mounting hole.
As the result my videocard is recognized as Nvidia G1.
Guest windows also  recognized as Nvidia G1, but shows the same error: "Windows has stopped this device because it has reported problems. (Code 43)" :(. I use Ubuntu 13.04 (Beta), Xen 4.2.1, Asrock Z77 Pro4 and Core i5-3470.
Could you please help me solve the issue?
verybigbadboy, could you please specify software versions which you use to get working VGA path through on  GT640 (modified to Grid K1)?

Thank you in advance!
« Last Edit: April 11, 2013, 07:55:10 am by myweb »
 

Offline verybigbadboy

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 38
  • Country: ru
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #271 on: April 11, 2013, 07:15:49 pm »
You are right again: R532 is 25K and it's R1, R558 is R2
R3 and R4 are resistors near the mounting hole.
I attached your photo with marks on resistors, can you check marks? I would like to add this photo to gt640 post.

Guest windows also  recognized as Nvidia G1, but shows the same error: "Windows has stopped this device because it has reported problems. (Code 43)" :(. I use Ubuntu 13.04 (Beta), Xen 4.2.1, Asrock Z77 Pro4 and Core i5-3470.
Could you please help me solve the issue?
verybigbadboy, could you please specify software versions which you use to get working VGA path through on  GT640 (modified to Grid K1)?
I think it is nvidia drivers issue.
Can you try to remove nvidia geforce drivers. install quadro drivers after.
Also can you check is card working good without xen?

pc: debian 6 xen 4.2
home pc: gentoo, kernel 3.7.10, qemu 1.4.0 + libvirt and virt-manager for config.

« Last Edit: April 11, 2013, 08:02:35 pm by verybigbadboy »
6'7''
 

Offline myweb

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
  • Country: by
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #272 on: April 11, 2013, 09:32:00 pm »
I attached your photo with marks on resistors, can you check marks? I would like to add this photo to gt640 post.
Yes, sure, I will check on today evening at home.
I think it is nvidia drivers issue.
Can you try to remove nvidia geforce drivers. install quadro drivers after.
Also can you check is card working good without xen?
Could you please specify which version of nvidia driver did you use when check vga path through?
I had installed nvidia geforce drivers on VM before I made resistors modifications. When modified videocard was installed Windows said that device driver is not found and I download and install quadro drivers. Installation of quadro drivers looks like uninstall geforce drivers (I do not see GeForce driver at Add/Remove Program)
Ok, will check if card is working on Ubuntu without Xen. Also, could you please clarify how Gt640 (Grid k1 mod) should work with DVI, HDMI outputs?


pc: debian 6 xen 4.2
home pc: gentoo, kernel 3.7.10, qemu 1.4.0 + libvirt and virt-manager for config.
Did you compile Xen from sourcea and apply patches for Nvidia path through support or use xen 4.2 from repository?
« Last Edit: April 11, 2013, 11:07:07 pm by myweb »
 

Offline verybigbadboy

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 38
  • Country: ru
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #273 on: April 12, 2013, 02:05:10 am »
Could you please specify which version of nvidia driver did you use when check vga path through?
I had installed nvidia geforce drivers on VM before I made resistors modifications. When modified videocard was installed Windows said that device driver is not found and I download and install quadro drivers. Installation of quadro drivers looks like uninstall geforce drivers (I do not see GeForce driver at Add/Remove Program)
Ok, will check if card is working on Ubuntu without Xen. Also, could you please clarify how Gt640 (Grid k1 mod) should work with DVI, HDMI outputs?
I tested DVI outputs, it is works fine.

pc: debian 6 xen 4.2
home pc: gentoo, kernel 3.7.10, qemu 1.4.0 + libvirt and virt-manager for config.
Did you compile Xen from sourcea and apply patches for Nvidia path through support
Yes, but I think it should work without patches.
6'7''
 

Offline myweb

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
  • Country: by
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #274 on: April 12, 2013, 07:36:56 am »
I attached your photo with marks on resistors, can you check marks? I would like to add this photo to gt640 post.
The photo is correct.
I successfully enable GT640 (mod Grid k1) with Nvidia and Nouveau drivers as secondary card under Ubuntu WITHOUT XEN
Windows guest under XEN was booted from Ubuntu live image and video output automatically switched to GT640 (mod Grid k1) HDMI (the color has some hue, but not significant )
Windows 7 x64 SP1 still can't work with GT640 (mod Grid k1) - I have removed all drivers and installed the latest one dowloaded from Nvidia site: Error 43  |O

verybigbadboy, did you check vga path through before making resistors modification?
Are there any ideas how to make Windows working with Nvidia GT640 (mod Grid k1) via Xen vga path through?

Thank you in advance.
« Last Edit: April 12, 2013, 07:59:38 am by myweb »
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf