Author Topic: Have you designed early life failure into a product?  (Read 30820 times)

Offline aargeeTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Have you designed early life failure into a product?
« on: August 07, 2014, 12:53:33 am »
Or in other words,  knowingly or been forced to fit a design to a life cycle much smaller than customers/end users would expect?

I can understand that the race to the bottom in quality causes corners to be cut, etc. but designs that are planned to fail close to the end of warranty (or other milestones in a product's life)

I have never been in the design cycle for new products, I'm a field service engineer, fixing stuff or inventing kludges to fix problems. Over my many years of experience in lots of facets of the electronics industry, it *seems* like some designs I have run into have been purpose built for a lifespan of "X" whereas the customer would expect "Y" (where X<<Y).

I know there's all the evidence out there from the light bulb consortium at the turn of the century through to the printer ink marketing, I'm just curious about the people who knowingly design this stuff.
Not easy, not hard, just need to be incentivised.

Offline retrolefty

• Super Contributor
  • measurement changes behavior
Re: Have you designed early life failure into a product?
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2014, 01:30:51 am »
Interesting question. I can't talk much about electronics products other then their real cost (inflation adjusted) to consumers has never been better. A related consumer product I can relate to is automobiles. Growing up in the 50s it seemed that most middle class+ people would look to replace their car around 3+ years or so. The last two cars I've owned have lasted me 13 and 14 years, they just seem to last longer and are more reliable.

Offline SirNick

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2014, 03:46:28 am »
OTOH, I drive a car that was built ten years before I was born.  ;)