Author Topic: How tough is it for a fresh grad to get first job in Engineering?  (Read 5782 times)

Offline jefflieuTopic starter

• Contributor
Hello,
How tough do you guys think for fresh grad to get a first job in Engineering?
Lots of my cohort didn't get a job in Engineering, they ended up in some non-engineering jobs such as property agents or banking trainees. I don't know if these was there choice or not.
I personally felt that it's definitely not enough just to rely on school projects to advance your skills. i.e you have to do more things on your own in your free time such as getting a dev kit and play with it. But is that true/helpful?
I spoke to a few juniors and it seems that they think school projects are enough...

What's the chance of getting first job without being in top  20% of your cohort? Of course this is very dependent on the job market and the school that you're from.
When I graduated in Singapore, it was not so difficult for me, I had like 5 interviews and landed a job.

Networking/Internship is also important. I had very limited contacts when I graduated and first job didn't come from my network.
So guys, please share your career experience!

Jeff
i love Melbourne

Offline CopperCone

• Super Contributor
  • *knock knock*
Re: How tough is it for a fresh grad to get first job in Engineering?
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2017, 01:41:57 am »
work cheap, be interested in what you do and your fine. otherwise you will be romancing people and sucking corporate balls
« Last Edit: August 19, 2017, 01:43:49 am by CopperCone »

Offline Tomorokoshi

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2017, 02:07:34 am »
Projects you do on your own are not a guarantee, and how relevant they are to an interview depends a lot on the interviewers. That said, your projects offer several opportunities.