Author Topic: Intern / part timer for Startup (Bay area)  (Read 16540 times)

Offline EEVblog

• Administrator
    • EEVblog
Re: Intern / part timer for Startup (Bay area)
« Reply #25 on: February 01, 2015, 07:31:16 am »
I work as an intern/undergrad engineer and get £15kGBP per year.

Interesting.
My EEVblog jobs pay more than that in equiv AUD

Offline EEVblog

• Administrator
    • EEVblog
« Reply #26 on: February 01, 2015, 07:34:15 am »
This job posting is sketchy to me not because it doesn't pay or does not pay well, but because it demands high-end skills ("be able to work from 'napkin sketch' to working hardware") from an intern. The fact that they appear to be making hardware but are lacking a "hardware engineer" is also suspicious. It could all be legit; the writeup could be worse than the reality, but the writeup /is/ indeed sketchy.

The red flag for me went up they said they don't have a hardware engineer, and then mentioned in tern/student.
That's likely not going to end well for the startup, or the student.

Offline EEVblog

• Administrator
    • EEVblog
« Reply #27 on: February 01, 2015, 07:39:09 am »
Obviously, the startup has funding. It has contracts. So it is NOT too much to ask them to pay someone for fair work done.

Agreed.
The only time you should be working for free is if you are one of the founders and it's your baby.

Offline miguelvp

• Super Contributor
« Reply #28 on: February 01, 2015, 08:22:29 am »
It gets more complicated,

If you are in a position that has a high pay and high responsibilities I would consult with your HR department about conflict of interests. Working on the side for a startup can have dire consequences even if you are not aware of it, no matter if the startup preceded your current employment.