Author Topic: Is it a good idea to DIY build everything else after buying an oscope and DMM?  (Read 11369 times)

Offline jaqieTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
  • Genuine Girl Techie
Hey there, all.  A little info about me that may be pertinent to answering my question.
---------------------
I am disabled on disability, so money is EXTREMELY tight to put it lightly.

I have been a PC technician before I became disabled, and am a PC hardware expert.

I used to want to be an electrician, so I know a hell of a lot about electrical stuff, am easily able to wire a house to code and such.

I had taken but not finished (health issues) electronics in college, never really learned much beyond diodes and caps.

I happen to have an IQ of 170, and am a very physical learner - if I see it done I can figure out how to do it myself... which leads to the problem below.

Software is my weakness. I learned MS Qbasic in high school in 1990s when it was all that was taught,and taught myself TRSDOS from TRS-80, but have been totally unable to learn anything newer ever since... I just can't wrap my head around it because it isn't in physical space and I can't see it physically to understand it.

I have a deep and keen interest in making my own electronics gadgets and gear, especially power supplies and computer interfacing gear.

A note on the above: most people getting into it now would only want to do USB, not me.  I am also a huge fan of old PCs, I built a 386 from parts recently and it is my pride and joy - running stuff in DOS and using LPT and COM ports would be just as fulfilling to me as working with USB gadgets.  Reminder I used to be a pc tech, and am now a hobbyist, I have from 386 all the way to my 6 core gamer pc, so not just old stuff for me!