Author Topic: Is my electrical setup for my media center safe  (Read 5042 times)

Offline SuperShermanTankerTopic starter

• Contributor
Is my electrical setup for my media center safe
« on: September 13, 2016, 02:58:10 am »
So I just got a bigger tv in my room and I redid my entertainment setup to have my game system collection on it and I was wondering if the setup is safe with the way I wired things up

My room has 2 2socket 2prong outlets and 2 2socket 3prong outlets and one of the 2prong outlets are behind my entertainment setup with the TV and VCR plugged into there and everything else plugged into the extension coard and surge protector and the power cord leads to the closest 3 prong outlet that's under my bed I wanted to ask if it's a safe setup because I'm not a electrician and I want to make sure it's safe to keep my game consoles plugged in so I can play on them when I want without having to reach under the thing searching for the correct plug to plug in

Here's a link to a few pics of it I'm Linking to the pics I uploaded on a thread I made on the Linus Tech Tips forum:

The extension cable says 16-3 AWG on the wire and the here's a pic of the back of the surfe protector https://linustechtips.com/main/uploads/monthly_2016_09/image.jpeg.95235436a2f11dfb362171ed0421606d.jpeg

And here are the pics of the setup and the cables undernieth the whole setup:
https://linustechtips.com/main/uploads/monthly_2016_09/image.jpeg.e0171bfb98e4f47185c067299cb44bfe.jpeg
https://linustechtips.com/main/uploads/monthly_2016_09/image.jpeg.9673af6afecf1227ca2a0ffedc07ae4f.jpeg
https://linustechtips.com/main/uploads/monthly_2016_09/image.jpeg.879840e40f53672e5953df7e4ecaab90.jpeg