Author Topic: Is there a program where you type in equations and change only variables?  (Read 4370 times)

Offline BeaminTopic starter

• Super Contributor
  • If you think my Boobs are big you should see my ba
Hopefully in the near future I will be going back to school. As I remember so much of my time was spent doing big long equations that would fill up two chalk boards that only had one, two or three inputs. That takes forever when you have 40 data points you took during the experiment. I remember spend 10 minutes to figure out the equation once let alone multiple times.

Is there something where you type in the equation once then just feed it a few variables click a button then get your answer? I realize you can write computer programs to do this but I'm not a programmer and learning it would take away from my studies.
Max characters: 300; characters remaining: 191
Images in your signature must be no greater than 500x25 pixels

Online ataradov

• Super Contributor
    • Personal site
You can try to do something like this with Excel or OO Calc.

But really, Python is perfect for this kind of stuff. You can start slow with just this basic requirement to evaluate formulas, but then when you need more, it is easy to get what you want. It is extremely easy to get started with Python and not having time is not a good excuse here.

Other options would be Matlab or Octave. Matlab has a $150 personal use licence and I highly recommend it. It is a powerful tool.
« Last Edit: July 22, 2018, 06:52:47 pm by ataradov »
Alex

Offline MaxSimmonds

• Contributor
I certainly agree with this. But, as an alternative to Matlab, I've used scilab which is almost identical to matlab, but free!