Author Topic: LCR vs ESR Meter  (Read 52815 times)

Offline requimTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
LCR vs ESR Meter
« on: October 27, 2011, 11:53:14 pm »
I'm wondering what the right tool is for the job.  I am just learning how about electronics and at this point my repair work qualifies as following others directions.  I am primarily interested at the moment in being able to repair older/broken items.  I'm of the understanding that capacitors have the highest failure rates in most (all?) electronic circuitry and that in order to detect failure I need to measure both the capacitance as well as the ESR in order to have a clear picture of whether the cap is good or bad. 

I've also read that you can apparently use a function generator and an oscilloscope to get ESR values as well, but I believe that means having to probe the same cap twice, once with the DMM to get the capacitance and again to get the ESR.  So while it would be cheaper to simply do the two probe test, I'd rather not have to measure it twice.  Therefore I'm looking at devices capable of measuring ESR and I've found ESR meters, which mostly appear to be DIY projects along with some pre-assembled versions and LCR meters which are mostly in the realm of major manufacturers.

So my question is, what's the right tool for the job?  I'm under the impression that if I'm doing design and building work that an LCR meter is the right tool for the job, but for repair work, an ESR meter is good enough.  Is my analysis correct?  And if so, what meter do you recommend?

I've been looking at the BK Precision 879B that Dave reviewed along with the Agilent U1732B.  Been hoping the price would drop to clearance at Granger so I can pick one up and make the whole decision making process easier.   I've also looked at the Agilent U1733C and think that if I'm going to spend $300 on the BK, I might as well spend $400 on the Agilent.