Author Topic: "Legal advice" regarding Arrow Electronics and UPS  (Read 1992 times)

Offline TheAmmoniacalTopic starter

• Supporter
"Legal advice" regarding Arrow Electronics and UPS
« on: October 18, 2018, 09:21:09 pm »
I made an order with Arrow Electronics (arrow.com) back in early May (2nd), just different components I needed for a project, at a total of $31.67 USD. At checkout I used the "Free worldwide shipping" they advertise, selecting FedEx at $0 USD.

The majority of the order was delivered by FedEx as expected, but the order had been split into two shipments and two molex connectors worth $0.87 arrived with UPS a few days later (~10th of May).

On June 7th I go on a 2 month vacation, as I'm a student living on campus most of the year.

When I get back there's an invoice from UPS asking $35.8 USD in shipping cost and fuel tax, a late payment notice with an added fee AND a final notice from a debt collector company which included "non-legal" (processing) fee and added interest, totaling $78.50 USD. (And yes, that first invoice must have taken ~a month to arrive, I checked by mail box before I left on the 7th of June).

Being pissed off at this "situation" I disputed the invoice with the debt collector, which suspended the case until further notice. At the same time I sent an email to Arrow support explaining the situation, they said they would look into it and fix it - but never received any confirmation. Now two weeks later I receive documents from UPS via the debt collector "proving" that I owe them money and that they will pursue this further (with/against me).

The documents they sent are attached below. The first document is supposed to be a form filled out by Arrow, saying that the recipient is to pay for shipping (anyone know what any of these abbreviations mean?). The second is a document UPS wants Arrow to sign in order to move the debt away from me and over to them.