Author Topic: Maplin "Insurers cast doubt over future of Maplin" (now CLOSING stores)  (Read 55718 times)

Offline vealmike

• Regular Contributor
Re: Maplin "Insurers cast doubt over future of Maplin"
« Reply #25 on: November 27, 2017, 01:26:44 pm »
Not really much of a loss, they have not been a sane option for anything much for the last 20 years.
Maplin are basically the latter day UK take on rat shack (Yes I know that was officially Tandy, but Maplin have ended up playing in much the same space).

Time was Maplin were actually useful, but you are pretty much looking pre internet, and these days all the full service component vendors will deal with private individuals on reasonable terms (I well remember RS refusing to play because I did not have a VAT number, you don't get that bullshit any more).

Regards, Dan.

Exactly what I was going to say. Maplin have essentially two business, what they call "Comp" (components) and what I call "overpriced shite".

When I was a student (thirty years ago  :wtf: :'() Maplin pretty much only sold "comp".
Radio Shack played in the "overpriced shite" market, with a little bit of "comp" on the side. Radio Shack went bust.

Since Radio Shack exited stage left, Maplin have steadily sought to follow in their footsteps. It is pretty clear that there is not a big enough market for "comp" to support all the Maplin high street stores. It should also be clear that following in Radio Shack's footsteps isn't a good idea.

Yes, I'll miss Maplin. Their demise is inevitable if they don't change. Sadly I can't tell them how to be successful in that sector.

Offline philpem

• Frequent Contributor
  • That Sneaky British Bloke
« Reply #26 on: November 27, 2017, 01:36:03 pm »