Author Topic: Microsoft to intentionally brick Windows 7/8 Update on Kaby Lake & Ryzen Systems  (Read 27457 times)

Offline @rt

• Super Contributor
Amazing as it sounds, I have discovered that Windows 7 can run without updates. I've been running a copy of Windows 7 for nearly 6 months now that has never been updated.

Why would it not run without updates if you didn’t change the hardware?
I’ve run it on more than one PC for much longer than that without any internet connection to even be able to get updates.
I think actually the oldest one is a couple of years.

Offline FaithTopic starter

• Supporter
I’ve run it on more than one PC for much longer than that without any internet connection to even be able to get updates.

I have a couple of friends who refuse to run Windows Update ever again on their Windows systems as a direct result of when Microsoft began injecting all sorts of Windows 10 nagware crap onto everyone's computers via Windows Update. Can't blame them either. That whole episode has left a rather sour taste in the mouths of many people, myself included.

Those friends do use their Windows systems for specific purposes however (mostly gaming; and no web browsing) so they can get away with it.

<3 ~Faith~

Offline rdl

• Super Contributor
I was actually just being a bit facetious there.

That's the machine I've been running Windows 7 on since 2012 without ever activating it. The last time I did a fresh install, I found Microsoft had made "Windows Update" such a chore to get working, that I just gave up.

I'd actually like to try Windows 10, just out of curiosity, but before I do that I need to get my network set up so that it will run in complete isolation. I'm not sure they will consider an unactivated Windows 7 install to be a valid upgrade path though.

Amazing as it sounds, I have discovered that Windows 7 can run without updates. I've been running a copy of Windows 7 for nearly 6 months now that has never been updated.

Offline rstofer