Author Topic: More solar roadways B.S. - "Solar panels replaced tarmac on a motorway"  (Read 3984 times)

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
Re: More solar roadways B.S. - "Solar panels replaced tarmac on a motorway"
« Reply #25 on: November 13, 2018, 10:27:18 pm »
Still the ROI needs to be kept in mind. Saying $10k on a $500k house is insignificant is just fooling yourself. Worse if you take a mortgage because you likely pay more interest on the solar panels than they earn.

Interest rates on a first mortgage are still lower than a loan for a post-construction install. And the interest on $10k on a $500k mortgage isn't much of an adder. You can do the math. Especially when we know that a solar installation improves resale values. (My real-estate agent friends confirm this.)
A mortgage runs much longer than a consumer loan so in the end you really have crunch some numbers to make a good comparison.

A coworker made an observation yesterday about the extra $10k on the $500k property. "Wait a month and the value of the property will have increased more than the extra cost for the solar panels."

Online nctnico

• Super Contributor
    • NCT Developments
« Reply #26 on: November 13, 2018, 11:02:20 pm »
But the $10k will still be lost. It is the little things which add up to the most. That is the danger on buying expensive items. Everything else suddenly looks cheap.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.

Offline PlainName

• Super Contributor
« Reply #27 on: November 13, 2018, 11:19:37 pm »
Where there getting the energy to melt snow? From another power plant?