Author Topic: New Member, Please introduce yourself  (Read 1434178 times)

Offline Geeky907

Re: New Member, Please introduce yourself
« Reply #2275 on: July 14, 2017, 05:34:29 pm »
Greetings From Alaska USA.

I'm a telecom engineer for a local mineral resources company. who's had a love for electronics and computers since early childhood.
 the beginnings of my professional career started in Radio and Television Broadcast and transmission. then has progressed more towards long-haul technologies and IT
But even-though my professional focus has moved from Mhz to Ghz i still find beauty in resonant cavities and large tetrodes/triodes

- Mike
Geeky907

Offline matpro76

• Contributor
« Reply #2276 on: July 15, 2017, 01:48:46 am »
Hi - I'm matt, my first career was in electronics (RAAF - Electronics Technician) but haven't really touched it since moving into the IT industry back in 2000. Just started to develop an interest again and stumbled across EEVblog on YouTube. Anyway looks like an awesome forum, will no doubt be contributing soon!

Cheers!

Offline biff

« Reply #2277 on: July 17, 2017, 05:28:21 pm »
Hi,
my name is Jim - and I collect old computers.  No - not old clunky Windows 95 machines,  I'm talking about when computers weren't appliances yet, back in the wild and woolly 8 bit days :-)

Back in the early 80s when I was a teenager, I started out with a TRS-80 Model 1, and within a day or so of purchasing it, I had the "Warranty Void if Removed" sticker punched through and it opened up.  I loved the simplicity of the design back then - and still do today.
The majority of the components it contained were simple logic gates - along with the CPU and memory chips of course.
Compared to todays desktop machines - computers like this were just asking you to open them up and modify them.
And if a mod went wrong (whoops - put a chip in backwards) it was a pretty simple job to remove the now fried chip and pick up another one from Radio Shack - or Jameco etc.