Author Topic: New Member, Please introduce yourself  (Read 1440969 times)

Offline FrankMc

• Armagh Electrical
Re: New Member, Please introduce yourself
« Reply #350 on: May 22, 2011, 08:50:00 am »
Hi Guys

I,m Frank a sparkie living in Melbourne...Came across Dave,s Blog from a link on a U.S.  sparkie Forum....

Been doing electronics as a hobby since i was an apprentice ...Dabble with PIC micros, programming in asm a little picbasic pro and lately have used  a program which converts ladder logic to pic code....

Frank

Offline N5XL

« Reply #351 on: May 23, 2011, 02:54:37 pm »
Hello to all from hot and sunny Phoenix, AZ.  Self taught electronics hobbyist and amateur radio operator for 26 years.

73 de N5XL ..

Offline WattSekunde

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #352 on: May 24, 2011, 12:23:54 am »
Hello around the globe and maybe beyond...  :D

I am an electronic hobbyist since... I was 5 Years old and I disassembled a small 3V electrical motor from a toy and think to myself... "1.5V battery = to slow"... "9V battery = nice fast"... "220V main power plug in the wall = ??? That has to be really fast!" ***booom***  :o - Yes I did it with the cables from the multimeter of my father. Some croco clips on one motor side and the perfect fitting banana clips into the wall.   ::)

Little later I started with a breadboard and some parts from my father in the early 80's. He is an electronic engineer, too. So, as a child I had a great resource of a wide range of sample components. My first contact to logic ICs was CMOS and not TTL like others around me, because my father used only CMOS on his projects. I loved the low power for battery powered projects and the low voltage range and had never ever problems with electro static discharge on my CMOS chips. I dreamed of building my own CPU...