Author Topic: New Member, Please introduce yourself  (Read 1433635 times)

Offline CodeDog

• Contributor
  • cave canem
Re: New Member, Please introduce yourself
« Reply #375 on: June 24, 2011, 11:37:38 pm »
Hi all, my name is Mark and I'm an EE (graduate of 1984). I grew up in Brisbane, now live in Melbourne and cut my teeth on a steady diet of Electronics Australia and ETI mags in the seventies. First major project was the 'miniscamp' microcomputer in 1978 - an 8-bit micro programmed via toggle switches and had a massive 256 bytes of memory.

How things have changed!

cheers,

Offline Seeker7

• Contributor
« Reply #376 on: June 25, 2011, 10:30:52 am »
Hi everyone, I'm Andrew, I'm in New Zealand.  I have no electronics experience whatsoever, other than messing around with old school volt/amp-meters in physics,  a *long* time ago!

I've been pointed to this site from garagejournal.com when asking about multimeters.  I have a car that I want to be able to do work on, and am looking for basic test equipment - multimeter, test light, etc.  I also want to ultimately get a variable power supply, soldering iron, and the rest - I love my toys/tools!

Offline Rousenator

« Reply #377 on: June 26, 2011, 08:00:00 am »
Hello - Time to do alot of reading!

Offline willd1971

• Regular Contributor
    • Labtronix
« Reply #378 on: June 27, 2011, 03:15:22 pm »
Hi I'm William,

I'm a product development professional with more than 10 years experience in electronics, software, mechanics - basically anything that goes into modern technical product development.

Having been frustrated by the lack of easy availability of far east brands in the UK and Europe I recently set up my own business to bring these items to the local market, partly because I want to be able to use good quality low cost equipment in my own lab, and also because I'm sure there's many other people out there like me who would like to see some variety in the local offerings.

William
http://www.labtronix.co.uk