Author Topic: no more center negative DC-plugs!  (Read 15243 times)

Offline fusionimageTopic starter

• Contributor
no more center negative DC-plugs!
« on: October 13, 2015, 01:57:03 am »
just started this fanpage ;D
https://www.facebook.com/No-more-center-negative-DC-plugs-108361362856194/

just for fun and not for commecial use, of course

Offline crispy_tofu

• Super Contributor
Re: no more center negative DC-plugs!
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2015, 02:02:09 am »
Sorry I'm a noob, but what's wrong with centre negative DC plugs?

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2015, 02:02:59 am »
nothing; i simply don't like them, as a lot of others :)

they work well, but most of the dc-plugs are center +

Offline Stonent

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2015, 02:04:55 am »
I just like knowing that the outside is negative so that it is less likely to short out when being pulled out with some shielding nearby.
The larger the government, the smaller the citizen.

• Contributor
« Reply #4 on: October 13, 2015, 02:06:49 am »
yep, usually you connect the outer side to gnd

Offline IanB

• Super Contributor
« Reply #5 on: October 13, 2015, 02:19:15 am »
I just like knowing that the outside is negative so that it is less likely to short out when being pulled out with some shielding nearby.

Well, suppose positive is ground? Then the outside should be positive.

Offline DimitriP

• Super Contributor
  • "Best practices" are best not practiced.© Dimitri
« Reply #6 on: October 13, 2015, 02:21:57 am »
Sorry I'm a noob, but what's wrong with centre negative DC plugs?

a) Yes 
b) makes  sense to those that express a preference.
b.1) (Plus witha center positive tucked away, you can't very easily short a +3 and a +20 together by the two outer contact touching each other accidentally (or on purpose).

If three 100  Ohm resistors are connected in parallel, and in series with a 200 Ohm resistor, how many resistors do you have? 

Offline DimitriP

• Super Contributor