Author Topic: No more free shipping from China to USA?  (Read 6920 times)

Offline scuzzyTerminatorTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
No more free shipping from China to USA?
« on: October 17, 2018, 07:04:07 pm »
Trump Opens New Front in His Battle With China: International Shipping

The New York Times; Oct. 17, 2018
WASHINGTON -- President Trump plans to withdraw from a 144-year-old postal treaty that has allowed Chinese companies to ship small packages to the United States at a steeply discounted rate, undercutting American competitors and flooding the market with cheap consumer goods.

Noooooooooooooooo!  :palm:

https://www.nytimes.com/2018/10/17/us/politics/trump-china-shipping.html

Offline TK

• Super Contributor
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
Re: No more free shipping from China to USA?
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2018, 07:07:47 pm »
I prefer to pay shipping on the items I purchase and not subsidize the millions and millions of packages that get shipped from China at US taxpayer's expense.

Offline helius

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2018, 07:28:53 pm »
The Universal Postal Union rules are what control the termination fees paid by China Post to the USPS. UPU considers China to be a mid-level developing economy on the level of Mexico or Thailand; this policy seems out of date.

The following users thanked this post: tooki

Offline xaxaxa

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2018, 07:43:10 pm »
More reason to move R&D to China.

Offline MK14

• Super Contributor
« Reply #4 on: October 17, 2018, 07:43:43 pm »
The ironic joke, is that the ability to buy many electronic components and modules at very low cost, such as $1.50. Means that younger, upcoming American, Electronics hobbyist can/could, with their limited $availability. Learn electronics, and potentially be future engineers.
So in some respects, you are shooting yourselves in the foot.