Author Topic: physical electronics work  (Read 1611 times)

Offline jose347Topic starter

• Contributor
physical electronics work
« on: October 09, 2018, 03:22:44 pm »
Hi I am an electrical engineer currently working in the integrated circuit design world, work has become slow for me lately, so I have been supporting others groups in the electronics fields,
I have noticed that most of the jobs in my company are strictly computer related, there is no lab work no physical interaction with your circuit, I have been looking at jobs and the only things that I have found working bench type works are electronic technician which really aren't engineers, my questions is which type of work(position) is it if any for an engineer that actually have a physical interaction with the electronics  :-BROKE(psu, oscilloscope or lab work related)?

Offline Benta

• Super Contributor
Re: physical electronics work
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2018, 04:01:27 pm »
Power electronics and RF. Two typical cases where simulation only can get you so far. Lots of lab work involved.

Offline ajb

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2018, 04:59:05 pm »
Smaller companies in general are more likely to have hands-on designers.  But that also comes with other tradeoffs, like having to help put out fires in production/support more often.

Online coppercone2

• Super Contributor
  • $
« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2018, 01:09:36 pm »
Smaller companies in general are more likely to have hands-on designers.  But that also comes with other tradeoffs, like having to help put out fires in production/support more often.