Author Topic: Power Electronics Design Engineer Career Question/Advice  (Read 1665 times)

Offline jackbobTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
    • My YouTube Channel
Power Electronics Design Engineer Career Question/Advice
« on: January 20, 2019, 04:00:20 am »
Hello EEVbloggers, I have come here to seek some insight into a specific career field, power electronics design. I have aspired to enter this field since high school and now I am approaching the last year of my bachelors in electrical engineering. I have always been interested in power fields and currently have a very good opportunity lined up with an established utility in Southern California. I am a paid student intern with a high chance of being hired on as an engineer for the utility when I graduate. This new opportunity has slowly been separating me from my dream of working in the field of power electronics. For one, the pay is amazing and the workload is very manageable (it seems so even for the engineers I work with). The job is very high level and not too technical. I am one who enjoys a bit of a technical challenge and really like design work but I would hate to leave this great opportunity here to end up working some high-stress job at a company like Tesla and make half the salary. The work I do for the utility is very cookie cutter like. We have standards and practices that are used over continuously and I feel like I don't get to really do as much of my own design work as I would like. I also like to work with hardware a bit, such as designing a project then testing and refining the design in a lab setting, something I don't get working in the utility industry. One thing I learned from working this job is that all the technical stuff you learn in school gets replaced by computer simulations and software, at least in the utility industry.