Author Topic: Non-earthed wall sockets vs ESD-safe soldering  (Read 6730 times)

Offline sanchaz12Topic starter

• Regular Contributor
Non-earthed wall sockets vs ESD-safe soldering
« on: August 16, 2015, 08:54:43 am »
Hello everyone,

As I am a beginner to hobby-grade soldering I want to invest in a good soldering setup. I have almost certainly decided to buy the HAKKO FX-888D, so I will be assured that it will last me a long time.
But I just realized that the wall sockets are not grounded by any means (I live in an old house). Until now I just used a €10 "plug-directly-into-the-mains" soldering iron but never encountered any problems related to ESD.
The fact is that when I buy the HAKKO, a proper insulated and ESD-safe station, the whole ESD-safe part is just not going to work when not grounded, right?

There is a fixed radiator in the room I plan to solder. But I do not want to rely on my own thoughts about grounding until I know what makes a proper grounded connection.

Unfortunately it is not an option to re-wire the sockets or something like that, because it is a rented house. The property manager does not want to replace the wiring and sockets to be properly grounded, nor will he let me do that myself.

Offline TheElectricChicken

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Non-earthed wall sockets vs ESD-safe soldering
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2015, 10:37:46 am »
Oh the fun of having a landlord.  :palm:

ESD is generally not as much of a problem as people make out. Often you're not working on things that are easily broken and developing an intuitive way of touching things helps a lot. I cannot recall damaging anything from Static discharge (esd) myself, when I reach for any part of a computer I always touch the metal with my hand first, not the chips or edge connectors. Always touching the case first shorts out the static ZAP if there is one, leaving you safe to poke at the item.