Author Topic: Vocabulary for beginners  (Read 1633 times)

Offline stmdudeTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Vocabulary for beginners
« on: August 29, 2017, 08:37:04 pm »
I've been thinking about this for a while, and finally decided to write it down and get some input from other members.

What pushed me over the edge is Scottjd's excellent post here: https://www.eevblog.com/forum/beginners/probe-oscilloscope-ground-blow-up-issues-usb/msg1254104/#msg1254104

I think that many of us are so experienced with what we're doing that it's hard to explain things in a way that a complete beginner can reasonably understand. Many things are just so second-nature to us that we simply don't reflect on the fact that we're sometimes talking to people that are missing _massive_ parts of rudimentary knowledge.

I would love it if Dave would do a video for beginners about terminology more experienced people use and do some simple explanations/demonstrations of them.

It's been a while, so I've forgotten (repressed?) a lot of what I went through as a beginner, but one thing stands out in my mind.
I had a simple grounds-referenced circuit with two voltages. Lets say 5V and 10V. When I realized that putting a voltage-divider between the 5V and 10V rail, I would get 7.5V (referenced to ground) _as well as_ 2.5V (referenced to 5V), it was like a thousand light-bulbs turned on. "Ooohhhh. So _thats_ what they meant with potential, referenced voltages, etc!". I had heard the terms before, but obviously, I never understood what they actually meant.

I actually think it all boils down to that we need to give the beginners the vocabulary as well as the understanding of the words for them to be able to follow along in the more advanced topics.

So, what words do I think is needed?  In no particular order or relevance,
Referenced voltages (such as grounds-referenced), aka "voltage is relative, not absolute"
Differential signals
Floating circuits
Inrush
Ringing
Reflection
High-side / Low-side