Author Topic: RCA 'tubes vs. Transistors' booklet  (Read 4818 times)

Offline ferdieCX

• Regular Contributor
Re: RCA 'tubes vs. Transistors' booklet
« Reply #25 on: February 22, 2019, 05:24:37 pm »
Competing with IBM was also one of the mistakes that killed DEC.

Talking about RCA, I still use the stereo amplifier that I built in the early 70s, a RCA design with RCA transistors. It has never failed.
Here are my two manuals, bought in 1976 when I was a student. They have survived several moves, mostly overseas.

Offline schmitt trigger

• Super Contributor
« Reply #26 on: February 22, 2019, 09:28:40 pm »
Your blue book is exactly the same as mine. Printed in Argentina by Editorial Arbo.

Mine, however, is in worse shape than yours.

Offline amyk

• Super Contributor
« Reply #27 on: February 23, 2019, 12:51:18 am »
Here they are.

The Tube's book is actually in Spanish.
We had the RCA red book - what a nice throwback! I have a few other vaccuum tube books as well, but mostly in portuguese. These are very hard to get digitized without destroying the book.
http://bitsavers.trailing-edge.com/components/rca/_dataBooks/1975_SC-16_RCA_Solid-State_Devices_Manual.pdf

http://www.nj7p.org/Manuals/PDFs/Tubes/RCA-RC-29-1973.pdf

The following users thanked this post: rsjsouza, ferdieCX

Offline rsjsouza

• Super Contributor
  • Eternally curious
    • Vbe - vídeo blog eletrônico
« Reply #28 on: February 23, 2019, 01:57:26 am »
Since we are talking RCA... Here's an ad:

Which is part of this 1954 Tube manual:

And its arch rival at the time:

« Last Edit: February 23, 2019, 01:59:17 am by rsjsouza »
Vbe - vídeo blog eletrônico http://videos.vbeletronico.com

Oh, the "whys" of the datasheets... The information is there not to be an axiomatic truth, but instead each speck of data must be slowly inhaled while carefully performing a deep search inside oneself to find the true metaphysical sense...

Offline rsjsouza

• Super Contributor
  • Eternally curious