Author Topic: Reasonably priced PICs?  (Read 10041 times)

Offline MackaTopic starter

• Contributor
    • Andrew Craig Mackenzie
Reasonably priced PICs?
« on: November 08, 2009, 09:19:17 am »
Ok, as I mentioned in my post in the introduce yourself topic, I am currently studying for my exams, but after exams are over I am wanting to get hold of a few PICs.

I have 3 PIC 16F88's which I sampled from Microchip about 2.5 years a go, I never got around to using them as my home made programmer couldn't be completed (Australia sucks when it comes to obtaining chips). I now have a PICkit2 which I purchased last week from the uni (cheaper that way).

The 3 chips I currently have are already assigned to projects and I am looking to purchase some more, however they are so expensive in Australia! It's ridiculous!

I have compared prices from dontronics, microchip, jaycar, Microchip with Academic pricing and Digikey.
Jaycar is selling a PIC 16F88 for $14.95 ea
Dontronics is better priced at $7.25 ea
Digikey are selling the same chip for US$4.00ea, which is much much better, but the shipping can't be calculated until I purchase the device.
Microchip sell them for US$2.60 ea but the postage and handling is US$17.71 shipping  + US$5 handling (if the total price is <US$25)
Microchip offers a 25% Academic discount.

Cause there are different rates for different quantities, I have graphed the prices and quantities with MatLAB (MicrochipA is academic prices and is the yellow line, if anyone is interested). Digikey hasn't been included as I don't know about shipping and need to investigate prices further (after exams). All prices are in AU$ using the current exchange rate.

Are there any places I have missed/can get them cheaper? And why the heck do we get such pathetic prices?

GeekGirl

Re: Reasonably priced PICs?
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2009, 09:29:58 am »
Farnell is another place, 1+    $6.50    
10+    $3.74    
25+    $3.61    
100+    $3.43    

• Contributor