Author Topic: Recovery of an old Fluke 8020a with a bad LCD  (Read 68219 times)

Offline lowimpedanceTopic starter

• Super Contributor
  • Watts in an ohm?
Recovery of an old Fluke 8020a with a bad LCD
« on: January 21, 2011, 01:41:31 am »
Hi
 This is my first attempt at posting so I hope the pictures attach properly.

Just thought some may be interested in my rebuild of the LCD display on an old Fluke 8020a handheld meter.
What I did was to buy a 3.5 digit lcd (cheap) with through hole pins and then modify the plastic mount for the
old display so the new one would fit nicely and the slide in cover would keep it in place.
Next for the fun bit was to use wire wrap wire to connect the new LCD to the pcb pads where the old 'Zebra strip' was.
one of the photos shows clearly the old LCD module with the classic leaching of the older Flukes, making them totally
unusable.
 The calibration is in spec. and has been checked on a calibrator at work.
Some may ask why bother, the answer is because I hate to see a good meter end up in landfill and I got a fully functional
meter to add to the collection.
cheers
LowZ

« Last Edit: November 15, 2018, 09:31:11 am by lowimpedance »
The odd multimeter or 2 or 3 or 4...or........can't remember !.

Offline Kiriakos-GR

• Super Contributor
  • !
  • User is banned.
    • Honda AX-1 rebuild
Re: Recovery of an old Fluke 8020a with a bad LCD
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2011, 02:10:53 am »
Great job ...  8)

I bet that you will enjoy this link too.

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/index.php?topic=718.0

Welcome in the forum John ..

Online Excavatoree

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2011, 03:38:25 am »
Great idea.  These old meters (8020, 8021, 8022, ....) will last a while, but their weakness is the LCD, and stock LCDs and zebra strips are difficult if not impossible to find.  (and some are selling them for ridiculous prices.)

I'm a big fan of these meters, and also the idea of keeping something working.

Offline saturation